13th Annual Beautillion was ‘Something to Remember’

The A & O 21st Century Club, Inc. staged its 13th Annual Beautillion on Saturday, Nov. 28, at the Rayne Civic Center.

During the evening’s festivities, the 2008 honoree, Quincy Rochester, crowned his successor, King Freddie Broussard, Jr., 17-year-old son of Freddie and Edra Broussard and Rayne High junior. His escort for the special event was Carolyn Bell.

Beaux, along with their escorts were:

Darius Bonnom, 16-year-old son of Vincent and Shellie Bonnom and Rayne High junior. Keyasha Minix was his escort.

Patrick Gabriel, Jr., 17-year-old son of Patrick Gabriel and Elzina Jones and Rayne High senior. His escort was Applononia Jones.

Ja’Nathan Mouton, 17-year-old son of Dominick Mott and Tiffany Mouton. He is a Rayne High junior and was escorted by Leslie Threats.

Ty Mouton, 17-year-old son of Mr. and Mrs. Carlton Mouton and Rayne High senior. Sabre Gabriel was his escort.

Honorees and guests were welcomed by Tim Mayfield, who delivered the welcome address, followed by the invocation by Deacon Nolton Senegal.

Serving as master of ceremonies was Eric Jolivette, who was introduced by Brian Mouton, ball chairman.

A minuet choreographed by Edra Broussard and Ella Handy, presented the Beaux, along with last year’s king, Quincy Rochester, who delivered his farewell. Souvenirs were presented by Elton Landry, club president, and the toast was led by Hilda Wiltz.

Honored with the club’s Community Service Award was William Boards. A special plaque was presented by Mouton and Landry.

The presentation was completed with the Grand Waltz enjoyed by the Beaux and their mothers.

The evening was completed with dancing as music was provided by “DJ Live” of the Lake Charles area.

A & O Club officers are president Elton Landry, 1st vice president Jessie White, 2nd vice president and Ball chairman Brian Mouton, secretary Phil Woods, treasurer Felton Charles, assistant treasurer William Boards, Sgt.-at-arms Melvin Lawrence, reporter Edward Senegal, and chaplain George Jackson.

Club members are Lester Washington, Alexander “Ice Man” Guidry, Ron Beverly, Jr., Ezzie Charles, Joe Toby Chevis, Raymond McDowell, IV, Keefer Young, James Joseph Richard, Lester Guidry, Jessie White, Troy Threats, Anthony Gardner and Tim Mayfield.

Special thanks to Edra Broussard, Ella Handy, Louis Handy, Hilda Wiltz, Nolton Senegal, Mayor Jim Petitjean, Cutina Jolivette, Cutrina Jolivette, Danielle Reed, Rose Marie Mouton, Eric Jolivette, and DJ Live.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us