Ag Commissioner Mike Strain announces disaster declaration

Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M., said the United States Department of Agriculture has designated 53 Louisiana parishes as primary agricultural disaster areas.

“Extreme weather in early spring in the form of drought and excessive rainfall during the harvest months hurt our farmers,” Strain said. “One of the wettest Octobers on record made it nearly impossible for some farmers to recover from the drought.

“Many of our state farmers, foresters and ranchers have been devastated by natural disasters for a second year in a row and we are grateful for the help from the Governor’s office and the USDA. A concerted national effort is needed to assist our agricultural producers so American farmers may continue to produce and compete in the worldwide market place.

“I urge Congress to enact legislation that would allow for an effective delivery of emergency financial disaster assistance that is equitable for Louisiana’s unique agricultural needs with a mechanism similar to direct payments

“Many of our producers need assistance within weeks to repay loans and secure new financing in time for spring planting. We do our best to assist our farmers, foresters and ranchers in times of disaster, but our country will continue to lose its ability to produce and compete in the worldwide market unless we can protect our agricultural producers.

“It’s important for all farmers in the affected parishes to contact their local FSA offices and apply for aid and get their paperwork in early.”

In addition to the 53 parishes named as primary disaster areas, an additional 10 were named contiguous disaster parishes.

The disaster designation makes agricultural producers in those parishes eligible to receive aid from the Farm Service Agency in the form of emergency loans and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program.

Farm operators must have incurred losses caused by the combined effect of spring and summer drought followed by excessive rainfall between April 1 and Oct. 30 to qualify for disaster relief.

Strain identified Acadia, Ascension, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Cameron, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, DeSoto, East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Lafayette, LaSalle, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Orleans, Ouachita, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Red River, Richland, St. Bernard, St. Charles, St. Helena, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Landry, St. Martin, St. Tammany, Tangipahoa, Tensas, Vermilion, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Baton Rouge and West Carroll as primary disaster areas.

Designated as contiguous disaster parishes are Allen, Assumption, Jackson, Lafourche, Lincoln, Sabine, St. Mary, Union, West Feliciana and Winn.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us