Arabie, Hargroder named to 1-A team

By Tabby Soignier

Written for the LSWA

As expected, South Plaquemines High dominated Class 1A football on the field for the second straight year, winning its second straight title.

Those accolades also carry over to the Class 1A all-state team this year voted on by the Louisiana Sportswriters Association.

St. Edmund standouts Marshall Arabie and Trevor Hargroder were named as honorable mention selections.

Basile’s Jon Fournerat, Derrick Thomas and Fabian Bellard were also selected honorable mention.

Six Hurricanes were voted to the LSWA team with SPHS’ Ridge Turner and Seth Ancar sweeping the top individual honors.

Warren Capone 1A runner-up Christian Life Academy was selected as the Coach of the Year for 1A by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

The senior quarterback (5-11, 175) earned Most Valuable Player on offense after reaching over 4,000 yards in total offense for the second straight year.

He went into the title game against Christian Life just five yards shy of the mark but had no problem reaching the goal.

South Plaquemines put up 62 points in the Class 1A championship for a Louisiana High School record with Turner accounting for two touchdowns rushing and two passing.

Turner had a total of 201 yards passing in 12 completions out of 17 attempts. His touchdowns came on a 48-yard pass and 7-yard pass. Turner finished the season with 3,240 passing yards and 42 TDs, completing 160 of 229 passes.

Teammate and linebacker Seth Ancar was named the defensive Most Valuable Player.

The 5-10, 190 junior finished the year with 78 total tackles, 20 sacks and five forced fumbles.

He had seven tackles in the title game – four solo – along with one forced fumble and three sacks for a loss of 37 yards in the title game.

Runner-up Christian Life came into the postseason as a No. 7 seed and knocked off two higher seeds in No. 2 Ouachita Christian and No. 3 Delhi Charter to reach the championship game for the first time in school history.

Capone, in his third year at the school, led the Crusaders to a 12-2 record just three years after an 0-9 record.

Christian Life had four players named to the all-state team led running back Shane Andrus, who rushed for 2,842 yards and 40 TDs.

Andrus is joined in the backfield by Gueydan’s Darin Gums (1,352 yards, 19 TDs) and Delhi Charter’s Randy Julian (2,174 yards, 21 TDs), who led the Gators to their first semifinal appearance in school history.

South Plaquemines’ top receiver Bradley Sylve (45 catches, 1,174 yards, 13 TDs) led the receivers, along with Ouachita Christian senior Glenn Marshall (55-992, 14 TDs) and Montgomery’s Lloyd Willis (81-1,166, 9 TDs).

Montgomery also produced the Class 1A all-state athlete in senior quarterback Cody Stroud (2,317 passing yards, 20 TDs).

Leberon Thomas of West St. John, Dillon Farrell of Christian Life, Drew Antony of Cedar Creek, Christian Lyrse of Montgomery and Hunter Pruitt of Delhi Charter are the offensive linemen on the squad.

Of the South Plaquemines players named to the team, four are defensive stars, including linemen Beau Fitte (68 tackles, 19 sacks) and Felix Barthemeny (51 tackles, 18 tackles for loss).

Cedar Creek senior Josh Raley (58.5 tackles) and Block’s Trey Vault (66 tackles, 15 sacks) rounded out the line.

SPHS’ Tray Stewart (42 tackles, 13 tackles for loss) is part of the defensive backfield that also has South Cameron’s Dex Murphy (52 tackles),

Delhi Charter’s Heath Pruitt (71 tackles, 5 interceptions) and Kentwood’s Tevin Goggins (56 tackles, 2 fumble recoveries, 2 interceptions).

Ancar was joined in the linebacker category with Christian Life’s Chris Hayes (60.5 tackles), Ouachita Christian senior Jacob Boles (120 tackles) and Dextrell French from Haynesville.

Punter Steven Whisnant of Christian Life (38.8 average) and kicker Taylor Dawson of Ouachita Christian (54 PATs and 6 field goals) round out the team.


Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Cl.

WR Glenn Marshall Ouachita Christian 6-2 178 Sr.

WR Bradley Sylve South Plaquemines 5-8 160 So.

WR Lloyd Willis Montgomery 5-11 145 Sr.

OL Christian Lyrse Mangham 6-2 290 Sr.

OL Drew Antony Cedar Creek 6-2 248 Sr.

OL Dillon Farrell Christian Life 6-5 270 Sr.

OL LaBeron Thomas West St. John 6-1 290 Sr.

OL Hunter Pruitt Delhi Charter 6-1 225 Jr.

QB Ridge Turner South Plaquemines 5-11 175 Sr.

RB Shane Andrus Christian Life 5-9 175 Sr.

RB Darin Gums Gueydan 5-11 210 Jr.

RB Randy Julian Delhi Charter 5-9 205 Jr.

PK Taylor Dawson Ouachita Christian 5-10 180 So.

ATH Cody Stroud Montgomery 6-3 170 Sr.


Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Cl.

DL Josh Raley Cedar Creek 5-11 255 Sr.

DL Trey Vault Block 6-1 179 So.

DL Beau Fitte South Plaquemines 6-1 210 So.

DL Felix Barthemeny South Plaquemines 5-9 220 Jr.

LB Seth Ancar South Plaquemines 5-10 190 Jr.

LB Jacob Boles Ouachita Christian 6-1 165 Sr.

LB Dextrell French Haynesville 5-11 210 Sr.

LB Chris Hayes Christian Life 5-10 220 Sr.

DB Heath Pruitt Delhi Charter 6-1 175 Sr.

DB Tevin Goggins Kentwood 5-9 160 Sr.

DB Dex Murphy South Cameron 5-10 170 Sr.

DB Tray Stewart South Plaquemines 6-2 215 Sr.

P Steven Whisnant Christian Life 6-2 175 Jr.

KR Devante Bourque Gueydan 6-3 200 Fr.

OFFENSIVE MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: Ridge Turner, South Plaquemines

DEFENSE MOST VALUABLE PLAYER: Seth Ancar, South Plaquemines

COACH OF THE YEAR: Warren Capone, Christian Life Academy

HONORABLE MENTION: Michael Nammour, Cedar Creek; Montel Hardman, Mangham; Michael Holland, Mangham; Jon Fournerat, Basile; Korey Abney, Arcadia; Steele Merritt, St. Mary’s; Trevor Hargroder, St. Edmund; Dylan Boutwell, South Plaquemines; Micah Shackelford, Ouachita Christian; Tony Bacciagalopi, South Cameron; Corey Reece, Delhi Charter; Christian Lyrse, Mangham; Jacob Davis, Ouachita Christian; Josh Wilson, Mangham; Chucky Perry, Arcadia; Marshall Arabie, St. Edmund; Derrick Thomas, Basile; John Bloodsaw, Block; Kenny Smith, LaSalle; Jorey Renard, Delcambre; Lyle Fitte, South Plaqeuemines; Gary London, Southern Lab; Ronald Martin, White Castle; Jyruss Edwards, White Castle; Blake Carter, West St. John; Jimmy Griffin, Hamilton Christian; Brett Raley, Delhi Charter; Christian Marcus, Cedar Creek; Isiah Davis, Hamilton Christian; Cory Warmington, West St. John; Blake Wooten, Ouachita Christian; Andy Smith Cedar Creek; Bobby Earl, Kentwood; Fabian Bellard, Basile; Reuben Foster, Ridgewood; Gabe Fluitt, Gueydan; Kevin Landry, Delcambre; Keith Villafranco, Crescent City; Darrius Livingston, Grambling.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us