Broussard wins district race

Judge Ed Broussard won the District 15 judge race by a vote of 6,362 to 3,127. He defeated Abbeville lawyer Chad Edwards.

Broussard, Abbeville’s city judge, got 66 percent of the votes.

“I am deeply honored to have had the confidence of so many people in the District and am overwhelmed by the support that has been shown me today,” Broussard said.

“As your next district court judge, I pledge to uphold that trust and confidence. I want to thank my family, friends and everyone who turned out to support me and my campaign. Thank you and I look forward to working with everyone to improve our communities.”

Abbeville lawyer Chad Edwards said, “Tobi and I will simply take this opportunity to say ‘thank you’ for allowing us into your homes and your hearts and congratulate Ed for his efforts.”

Other results are as follows:

Wayne Landry will be back on the Abbeville city council seat for another two years. Landry had little trouble beating Kevin Williams, 357 votes to 91.

In Delcambre, Carol Broussard will remain as the town’s mayor. He defeated James George 326 votes to 326.

James Broussard will also be the chief of police again in Delcambre. He got 66 percent of the votes (287 to 147).

In the Delcambre aldermen’s race, Mildred Delcambre beat Kim Leblanc (34 votes to 26 votes) in District 5, while Tim Derise beat Raymond Sons (62 votes to 14).

Percy Marceaux is Kaplan’s city marshal after beating Celia Langlinais (1,305 to 433).

Sheb Callahan is the Justice of the Peace in Ward 6, beating Leroy Marceaux (406 to 277).

B.J. Lege is the constable in Ward 6, downing Jake Hebert (488-183).

There will need to be a runoff for the Justice of the Peace in Ward 8. Grayson Benoit received 327 votes or 48 percent. With 32 percent of the votes was Shelby Simon (218).

Scott Vallo won as Gueydan’s alderman, defeating James Gayle 197 votes to 90 votes.

A total of 9,571 people voted or 26 percent of the registered voters.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us