2013-2014 Acadia Parish science fair winners announced


By Lisa Soileaux

Rayne Acadian-Tribune


RAYNE – After advancing from their individual school levels, students from across the parish traveled to the Rayne Civic Center Thursday, Jan. 23, to compete in the Acadia Parish Science Fair.


Winners were chosen from the numerous entries of Acadia Parish schools, with those awarded first, second or third place to move on to the next level of competition.

Two were also chosen as the 2014 Sweepstakes Winners, the top award in each division, including: 

Junior Division: Wesley Thibodeaux of Our Mother of Peace Catholic School, “Beef: It’s What For Dinner,”

Senior Division: Whitney Fontenot of Rayne High School, “Similar Finger Prints or Just Similar Faces.”

The full list of divisional winners follows:

Junior Division

Animal Science: 1st place Wesley Thibodeaux of OMP, 2nd place Trey Hains of Rayne Catholic, 3rd place Noah Hale of OMP;

Behavioral & Social Sciences: 1st place Alexis Hayes of Branch Elem., 2nd place Samantha Wright of St. Michael, 3rd place Alexandra Guidry of Armstrong Middle;

Biochemistry: 1st place Gentry Borill and Brock Broussard of St. Michael, 2nd place Hailie Richard of OMP, 3rd place Matthew Foster of Redemptorist Catholic;

Chemistry: 1st place Keely Guidry of Iota Middle, 2nd place Maggie Hazlett of Rayne Catholic, 3rd place Annah-Claire Dailey of Redemptorist Catholic;

Earth Science: 1st place Stephen Cormier and Kaizer Lamm of St. Michael, 2nd place Jack Robichaux and Jack Monceaux of St. Michael;

Electrical & Mechnanical Engineering: 1st place Matthew Ronkartz of Rayne Catholic, 2nd place Kyla Boone of Iota Middle, 3rd place Tanner LaGrange and Peyton Marcantel of Armstrong Middle;

Energy & Transportation: 2nd place Garrett Bergeron of Rayne Catholic, 3rd place Cason Dore and Jakob Didier of St. Michael;

Environmental Management: 1st place Destiny Bernard of Crowley Middle, 2nd place Conner Story of Iota Middle, 3rd place Taylor Marshall and Macy Lindig of Iota Middle;

Environmental Science: 1st place Layla Simon of St. Michael, 2nd place Kyser Hebert of St. Michael, 3rd place Abbie Royer and Doryan Drasseaux of Mire Elem.;

Materials & Bioengineering: 1st place Kane Bergeron of Armstrong Middle, 2nd place Cooper Simon of Armsrong Middle, 3rd place Sabrina Guidry of Crowley Middle; 

Mathematical Sciences: 1st place Sean Thevenet of Armstrong Middle, 2nd place Caroline Dugan of Iota Middle;

Medicine & Health: 1st place Catherine Gonzales and Natalie Miller of St. Michael, 2nd place Ethan Alleman and Kadyn White of Armstrong Middle, 3rd place Erin Gaspard of OMP;

Micriobiology: 1st place Gage Higginbotham of Church Point Middle, 2nd place Ellie Fields and Krysten Theunissen of St. Michael, 3rd place Emily Zaunbrecher of Redemptorist Catholic;

Physics & Astronomy: 1st place Patrick Cormier of Redemptorist Catholic, 2nd place Jocelyn Marceaux of Redemptorist Catholic, 3rd place Allyson Klein and Teri Johnson of Iota Middle;

Plant Sciences: 1st place Hayden Reiners of Rayne Catholic, 2nd place Ethan Daigle of OMP, 3rd place Claire LeBlanc of Branch Elem.

Senior Divison

Behavioral & Social Science: 1st place Bennett Narby of Iota High, 2nd place Madison Vidal of Rayne High, 3rd place Chloe Dietz of Northside Christian;

Cellular & Molecular Biology: 1st place Whitney Fontenot of Rayne High;

Chemistry: 1st place Colton Dupre, Eddie Aguillard and Brodie Douget of Iota High, 2nd place Sarah Johnson of Iota HIgh, 3rd place Cecily Schexnyder of Rayne High;

Earth Science: 3rd place Caroline Bergeron of Rayne High;

Electrical & Mechanical Engineering: 1st place Bryce Istre, Jacob Zaunbrecher and Keith Borel of Iota High, 2nd place Ty Abshire and Anthony Johnson of Crowley High, 3rd place Jacob Jackson of Northside Christian.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us