Church Point, Rayne grab 15 spots on 5-3A All-District team

CROWLEY – For the Church Point Bears and the Rayne Wolves, the 2011 prep football season was a memorable one to say the least.

The Bears got off to a 4-1 start in non-district action, went 4-1 through league play and then, in a must-win game in the regular-season finale, they shocked rival Eunice in the final regular season game to earn a share of the District 5-3A crown.

The Wolves, meanwhile, went undefeated through their first five games, lost all five of their league games and then made a surprising run in the playoffs that took them all the way to the Class AAA quarterfinals.

After seasons like that, it wasn’t surprising that the two teams were honored with a combined 15 selections on the 5-3A All-District team that was recently released the league’s coaches.

Topping the list of honors was Church Point coach John Craig Arceneaux, who earned a share of the Coach of the Year award along with Eunice’s Paul Trosclair and Livonia ’s David Brewerton. All three teams tied for the league title after each went 4-1 in district play.

Arceneaux guided his squad to a 14-0 victory over Class 4A Beau Chene in the season opener and the Bears followed that up with a 28-0 thrashing of Kaplan. They then defeated Class 4A Cecilia, 13-6, before suffering their first defeat, a 29-13 loss to Class 2A power Catholic High of New Iberia in Week 4.

The Bears then got back on track a week later with a 37-2 victory over Erath.

Arceneaux’s squad opened league play with a 21-12 victory over Port Barre. A 34-6 victory over Northwest and a 27-12 win over Rayne put the Bears in prime position for their first league title in recent memory.

A 28-6 setback to Livonia in Week 9 put those championship hopes in jeopardy, but the Bears rebounded in the final week of the regular season and pounded out a 42-7 upset victory over then league-leading Eunice.

Church Point’s magical season came to an end a week later when they were upset by Rayne, 22-14, in the first round of the playoffs.

Surprisingly enough, Church Point was only granted one offensive player on the first team despite averaging over 22 points per contest. That player was offensive lineman Brock Latiolais.

Rayne also nabbed one first team selection on offense in running back Jaylen Williams. The senior racked up 1,129 yards and 14 touchdowns on 149 carries.

Defensively, the Bears landed four spots on the team after allowing just under 12 points per game.

Dexter Charles and Josh Lavergne made the squad on the defensive line; Hunter Wimberly earned a spot at linebacker and Chance Roy made it at a defensive back.

Charles, a junior, logged 37 tackles and also had two sacks, 11 hurries, one caused fumble and one fumble recovery. Lavergne had 31 tackles, one sack and three hurries.

Wimberly led the Bears’ linebacking crew with 45 tackles, one sack, one forced fumble and one fumble recovery. Roy had 57 tackles, one forced fumble and five interceptions.

Church Point grabbed two spots on the offensive second team in running back Jacob Boone and offensive lineman Taylor Moresi.

Boone led the Bears ground attack with 986 yards and 16 touchdowns on 151 carries. He also had 10 receptions for 116 yards.

Church Point also nailed down two spots on the defensive second team in linebacker Thedrick Citizen and defensive back Zack Meche.

Citizen actually led the team in tackles with 94 while also recovering two fumbles. Meche had 36 tackles and five pass breakups.

Rayne’s Dannie Harmon made the team at tight end with 20 receptions for 398 yards and four touchdowns and Brennon McKnight made the unit on the offensive line.

Pat Charles and Lacy Granger made the second team on the defensive line and Billy Marcantel grabbed one of the linebacker spots.

Charles recorded 70 tackles, three sacks and three caused fumbles while Granger had 55 tackles and four sacks. Marcantel finished with 92 tackles and two sacks.

Honorable mentions include Jake Morvant, Gallen Williams, Devin Landry, Beau Baker and Brett Thibodeaux of Church Point and R.J. Buchanan, Brody Bourque, Clarence Leger, Malcolm Winbush and Jaylen Boutte of Rayne.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us