Crowley’s Daniels named 4-3A MVP

By Chris Quebedeaux


CROWLEY – Crowley High quarterback D’Myrus Daniels leads a contingent of six Gentlemen to land on the 4-AAA All-District team that was recently released by the league’s coaches.

Daniels landed one of the team’s top three honors, earning the Offensive Most Valuable Player award after a stellar season both running and throwing the football.

The junior signal caller completed 54 percent of his passes (91-168) for 1,402 yards and 10 touchdowns in helping lead the Gents to a runnersup finish in league play and a second-round playoff appearance. He also was the team’s leading rusher, racking up 787 yards and 15 touchdowns on 163 carries.

District champion Eunice grabbed the other two top honors in Defensive Most Valuable Player Vondray Vallare and Coach of the Year Paul Trosclair.

Daniels is joined on the first offensive unit by teammates Donavon Morris and Devin Hebert.

Morris, a senior receiver, was Daniels main target all year, hauling in 33 passes for 711 yards and seven touchdowns. Hebert helped pave the way for Daniels on the offensive line.

Crowley’s Calvin Lewis and Tuskani Figaro made the team on defense while Troy Wilridge earned a spot as the return specialist.

Lewis, a senior linebacker, led the Gents’ defensive charge, logging 72 solo tackles and 58 assists. He had nine tackles for a loss, three sacks, three pass breakups, two caused fumbles and two forced fumbles.

Figaro, a sophomore linebacker who made the team at defensive end, had 41 solos and 21 assists in his first year with the Gents. He also had 18 tackles for a loss, 14 sacks, two pass breakups, one caused fumble, two forced fumbles and one interception.

Wilridge, a senior utility player who also played in the secondary as well as at running back, returned 12 punts for 168 yards and two touchdowns and seven kickoffs for 177 yards and one touchdown.

Eunice landed eight players on the first team in wide receiver Tharold Simon, offensive linemen Dylan Rodrigues and Lonnie Allison, running back Trey Caesar, place kicker Jeffey Burge, defensive lineman Adrian Williams, linebacker Vondray Vallare and defensive back Martin Seemion.

Westlake’s Gabe Spikes and Trent Toups are the other two offensive linemen while Iowa’s Sean Celestine is listed at receiver. Westlake’s Donald James and Church Point’s Von Duplechin round out the running back slots.

Westlake’s Chase Shuck and Church Point’s John Leger join Williams and Figaro on the defensive line.

Westlake’s Ricky Irvin and Iowa’s Darren Broussard earned spots at linebacker while Iowa’s Dylan Armentor, Weslake’s Justin Nordberg and Northwest’s Jordan Manuel are listed as defensive backs.

Crowley and Church Point combined for 10 slots on the second team.

CHS lineman Ben Finely and running back Tonori Boutte ( 151-658, 11 TDs) earned spots on offense while linemen Troy Johnson and Dimitri Charles join linebacker George Henagan and DB Troy Wilridge on defense.

Church Point’s Ben Guidry made the team on the offensive line and is joined by Brock Darbonne on the defensive line and Ben Prosper at linebacker. Duplechin is listed at return specialist.

Crowley’s honorable mentions include defensive linemen Travoris Robinson and Nick Hoffpauir, defensive backs Darius Mills and Kristian Allen and receiver Caleb Cormier.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us