Crowley lands three on 4-AAA All-District team

CROWLEY – For Crowley High seniors Justin Desselle, Jake Trahan and Tyler Dupuis, the Gents’ 2010 campaign was a memorable one.

The trio helped lead the Gents to a 22-win season and a runnersup finish in District 4-AAA behind league-champion Iowa.

For their efforts, the three were rewarded by being named to the 4-AAA All-District team that was recently released by the league’s coaches.

Desselle made the team as a pitcher after recording a record of 4-4 in league play. He also had three saves and posted an earned run average of 2.37.

He is joined on the pitching staff by MVP Madison Lachney (11-2) and Evan Watson (5-0, 3.00 ERA) of Iowa and Tanner Carreon (1-4, 3.67 ERA) of Church Point.

Trahan earned a first-team spot at shortstop after hitting .438 in the 10 league games while Dupuis, the Gents’ center fielder, made the team as a utility player after hitting .514 with two home runs.

Joining Trahan on the infield are Eunice catcher Stuart Turner (.471, five home runs), Iowa first baseman Shane Deshotel (.462, three home runs, 45 RBI), Iowa second baseman Tyler Chapman (.488, six home runs, 25 RBI), and Eunice third baseman Tyler Fontenot (.361, 21 RBI).

Iowa’s Dylan Armentor (.423, two home runs) and Chance Curlee (.406, one home run) and Eunice’s Martin Seemion (.400, two home runs, 23 RBI) make up the squad’s outfield.

Making the team at utility along with Dupuis are Iowa’s Phillip LeBleu (.364) and Daniel Hennigan (.429), Eunice’s Jacob Fontenot (.439) and Westlake’s Tyler Stroddard (.328).

Crowley catcher Brian Broussard (.460) earned second-team honors along with third baseman Chad Hoffpauir (.500) and outfielders Brody Deshotel (.375) and Donavon Morris (.355).

Church Point’s Brody Latiolais also made the second unit at pitcher with a 4-4 record.

Also making the second team are Eunice’s Beau Leger, Trent Vidrine, Matthew Bari, Brody Olivier and Brett Darbonne; Westlake’s Jonathon Lamberth, Zach Vincent, Richie Bagley, Donovan Alderson and Brandon Gary; Northwest’s Dustin Richard, Darius Wilson, Brandon Doga and Brandon Tankersly; Iowa’s Gene Pete and Quince Landry.

Honorable mentions include Crowley’s Taylor Bertrand and Church Point’s Brock Allemon.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us