Crowley, Notre Dame grab spots on 4-3A All-District squad

CROWLEY – Despite losing their three leading scorers from a year earlier, the Crowley Gents’ basketball team didn’t rebuild during the 2011-12 season - they reloaded.

The Gents filled in the gaps with a trio of role players from a year ago and raced to their third straight district championship under head coach Derrick Boone.

Their only slipup during District 4-3A play, in which they went 9-1, was a 63-56 setback at Westlake.

They rebounded from that loss with five straight victories, including a 64-49 thumping of Westlake at home in the league finale.

As expected, Boone and the Gents were rewarded for their efforts when the league’s coaches recently released their All-District team.

Boone was named the Coach of the Year for the third time in as many years and the Gents landed one player on the first team.

After going 6-10 through the first half of the season, Boone guided the Gents to nine victories in their last 11 regular season games and his squad earned the No. 15 seed in the playoffs.

However, the Gents fell in the opening round at home to No. 18 Bogalusa, 89-65.

The Gents’ representative on the league’s first team is Dorris Senegal. The senior guard poured in 16 points and grabbed seven rebounds per game during the district slate. He also averaged two steals.

Headlining the first unit is Westlake’s Jocory Washington, a sophomore guard who averaged 15.8 points and 12 rebounds per game en route to earning Most Valuable Player honors.

Also on the team are Jennings sophomore Marvin Williams (10 points, 7 rebounds) and freshman Draylon Perkins (13.7 points, 3 rebounds). Iowa junior Damon Guillory rounds out the team with 15.1 points and six rebounds.

Crowley juniors Andre Mills and Damon Malbrough were named to the second team.

Mills averaged 13.2 points and seven assists while Malbrough had 11 points and 13 rebounds.

Westlake’s Dedrick Lavergne (17.3 points, 4.4 assists), South Beauregard’s Grant Thibodeaux (15.5 points, 4.5 rebounds) and Iowa’s Jarron Stansberry (11.8 points, 3 rebounds) were also named to the second unit.

The All-Defensive unit is made up of Crowley’s Danny Malbrough, Notre Dame’s Jermerrio Lollis, Iowa’s Jordan Malbreaux, Westlake’s JaCory Washington, South Beauregard’s Colbey Deal and Jennings’ Malik Williams.

Honorable mentions include Crowley’s Dylan Montgomery, Iowa’s TaRay Martin, Zach Hebert and Gerald Marshal, Jennings’ D’Corey Savoy, Chris Perkins and Theron Haley, Westlake’s Tyler Johnson, Justin Johnson and Jon Mark and South Beauregard’s Micah McElhaney and Michael Joyce.

Girls 4-3A All-District

Crowley High and Notre Dame each nailed down one spot on the girls’ 4-3A All-District team that was recently announced.

Crowley’s Mercedes Rogers made the cut as well as Notre Dame’s Marie Ledet.

Rogers, a junior forward, averaged 16 points and 10 rebounds per game. She also had four steals and blocked three shots.

Ledet, a senior guard, averaged 11.7 points, 8.3 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.5 steals.

Jennings’ Jayln Johnson was named the team’s Most Valuable Player. The McNeese State signee led the league in scoring with 23.3 points per game. She also had 5.2 rebounds, 4.3 steals and 2.9 assists.

Westlake Kylie Goodeaux (20.8 points, 3.7 rebounds, 6.8 steals and 3.5 assists) and Jase Johnson (11.6 points, 7.1 rebounds) also made the first team as well as Iowa’s Shaianne Anderson (21 points, 17 rebounds).

Notre Dame’s Alex Miller was tabbed to the second team after averaging 8.3 points, nine rebounds, two steals and four assists.

Other second team members include Westlake’s Kendra Wilrye and Mya Tunwar, Iowa’s Patricia Guillory and South Beauregard’s Morgan Dailey.

Crowley’s Tiara Dugar and Notre Dame’s Mallory Chiasson were named to the All-Defensive team along with Jennings’ Jaylen Johnson, South Beauregard’s Shelby Spann and Westlake’s Mya Tunwar.

Crowley’s Sara Woodard and Notre Dame’s Mary Charles and Sam Lyons were named to the honorable mention list.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us