Crowley Rotary installs new officers, starts new year

By: Jeannine LeJeune
CROWLEY – It was a night of laughter and congraluations at the Crowley Rotary Club’s installation banquet.

The club, which has been in existence in Crowley for 91 years, welcomed new leaders and honored those who helped make the 2010-11 year great.

First on the agenda was the installation of 2011-12 officers and directors, they were installed by District 6200 president-elect Linwood Broussard, who will become district governor in July. The club’s new officers are Mike Goss, president; Clay Lejeune, president-elect; Isabella delaHoussaye, past-president; Mary Zaunbrecher, secretary; Troy Breaux, treasurer; and Mike McBride, sergeant-at-arms. Six directors–Sandy Melancon, Adrianne Vidrine, Scott Privat, Gene Williams, Romona Credeur and Scott Schumacher–were also installed. District Governor Clarence Prudhomme was also on hand to help with the installation and present the president and past-president with pins.

Before installing the new officers, Broussard also reflected on his year and his several trips to Acadia Parish for various Crowley Rotary Club activities.

“I want to tell you one of the most vivid memories in my mind, it’s when I came to the dedication of The Welcome House,” said Broussard. “It stayed with me and made me realize the value of membership in Rotary.”

With all the new year’s officers ready to go, the club then turned to a look back at their past year, which was very successful. It saw the completion of the Welcome House, a labor of love for the Rotary Club and several members in particular. It also saw new members added to the fold.

Zaunbrecher announced that 10 members had perfect attendance. Paul Broussard’s 16 years of perfect attendance was the most of any Rotarian, he was followed by Troy Breaux and Ezora Proctor with 11 years each, Elliot Dore with nine years, Ron Lawson and Rev. James Proctor with three years each and delaHoussaye, Joe Freeland, Ed Habetz and Zaunbrecher with one year each.

The club also recognized delaHoussaye, Breaux and Zaunbrecher for all their hard work as club officers over the year. Service awards to the community service chairs were presented to Freeland (chairman of the international service committee), Melinda Malmay (chairwoman of the vocational committee), Privat (chairman of the club service committee) and Zaunbrecher (community service committee). The club was also recognized with the District 6200 Significant Achievement Award. Only one Significant Achievement Award is given per district.

“This club invited Kitty (Prudhomme’s wife) and I sometime ago to come down and look at your Welcome House, the project you were working on,” said Prudhomme. “We were just overwhelmed.”

The night’s awards concluded with the Rotarian of the Year award. Freeland’s nominee, Ron Lawson, was the recipient of the award. In his nomination letter Freeland said that Lawson deserved the award because of his work with The Welcome House project and the energy and extra effort he put into the project over the years; delaHoussaye agreed saying within the first few months of her presidency, she knew he was destined to be this year’s recipient.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us