DCS Gators grow through season of hard work, victory

The 2008 season began with the scorching days of summer workouts - running stadiums, pumping iron, weaving between tires and sliding through the sand pit. 7-on-7 tournaments, which seemed like a constant workout, fueled the fire of anticipation for the upcoming season. The season was upon us, more quickly than we had ever expected.

It was Sept. 5, 2008. We were scheduled against the number 3 team, Cedar Creek Cougars, who in the previous year dominated us on the gridiron. The outcome of this showdown would be different, as we dominated in the fierce face-off, winning 46-25. They were a very good team, and from that moment on, there was no doubt that we were bound for success.

Despite our failure to reach our ultimate goal, I believe we had an excellent season. In only our fourth year of being sanctioned by the LHSAA, we went 12-2 being defeated in the semi-finals by Christian Life Crusaders. As both a player, and a human being, I thank God for the chance to be a part of this family. We have a great coaching staff that I have always loved and respected; they are the mortar that holds the bricks of our success in place. We had a very talented football team this year, and we will lose a big part of our unit. However, with the great coaching and the young talent rising, we expect another great football season in 2009.

Many of our players have been recognized as all-district, all-state, and all-northeast, putting our hard work on display.

All-District offensive players were Jeremy Foote, Reggie Carroll, Stuart Scurria, Hunter Pruitt, Randy Julian, Kyle Hammons, Hunter Simms, Corey Reese and Drew Lewis.

All-District defensive players were Gabe Robinson, Riccie Gray, Stuart Scurria, Heath Pruitt, Ryan Hebert, Doug Craig, Hunter Simms, and Curt Winstead.

All-District Special Teams were Jeremy Foote and Stuart Scurria.

All-District Athlete was Stuart Scurria.

All-Northeast players were Hunter Simms, Stuart Scurria, Heath Pruitt, Hunter Pruitt, Corey Reese, and Randy Julian.

LSWA All-State players were Stuart Scurria, Heath Pruitt, Hunter Pruitt, Corey Reese, and Randy Julian.

Academic All-State players were Drew Lewis, Doug Craig, and Stuart Scurria.

District 4-1A Offensive Most Valuable Player was Stuart Scurria.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us