EP-SWCD elects new board members

The Evangeline Parish Soil and Water Conservation District (EPSWCD) Board of Supervisors has elected new officers for the district as follows: Jim Shipp Jr., chairman; Walter Tortorich, vice-chairman; and Jake Ardoin, secretary-treasurer.

Board members are public officials who represent the people within their district. Three members of the board are elected and two are appointed. The board reorganizes each year with the election of chairman, vice-chairman and secretary-treasurer. Board meetings are open to the public and the district holds regular and special meetings to determine community needs for conservation and resource management and development, also to plan and organize conservation efforts.

The SWCD maintains a cooperative partnership with the United States Department of Agriculture - Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) to provide quality assistance to all customers. Assistance from the SWCD is available to individual landowners/users, groups, cities and towns regarding conservation of soil and water resources. All assistance is available on a non-descriminatory basis.

For more information on the EPSWCD, call 363-6602, extension three, or visit the website www.ldaf.state.la.us.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us