Evangel's Rasco headlines Class 2A All-State squad

BATON ROUGE – Jermauria Rasco told anyone who would listen. The Evangel Christian Academy defensive end was going out on a high note.

That he did.

The 6-foot-3, 227-pound senior and a younger but punishing defensive line shut down John Curtis on their way to Evangel’s second-straight Class 2A state title — both over the Patriots.

Rasco finished the season with 92 tackles and 21 sacks. He also recovered a pivotal onside kick late in Evangel’s 28-14 win over John Curtis. For his efforts, the heavily recruited Rasco was named the Outstanding Defensive Player on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 2A All-State football team.

Riverside Academy quarterback Darnell Rachal was selected as the Outstanding Offensive Player, while Cedric Anderson, of East Feliciana, was voted Coach of the Year on the 2A squad selected by a panel of sportswriters from across the state.

Rasco, who scored twice in Evangel’s quarterfinal win over Loreauville, leaves Evangel with three state titles, but he said the third means the most.

“I’ll miss all the coaches at Evangel,” said Rasco, who had 6.5 tackles and 1.5 tackles in the win against John Curtis. “I’ll miss dressing out and working with (defensive coordinator) Byron Dawson every day.”

Dawson is going to miss Rasco, too. Rasco has been recording game-changing sacks since he started in eighth grade.

“He’s one of the best complete student-athletes that I’ve coached,” Dawson said. “He’s a great leader on and off the field. This kid knew what was on the line. That was his dream to finish strong.”

Dawson said his best memories of Rasco didn’t always happen on the football field.

“It’s the little things,” Dawson said. “About two weeks ago, nobody was in the locker room and I walked in and Jermauria was sweeping the floor. He’s one of the most sought-out athletes in the country, but he’s so humble.”

Joining Rasco on the defensive line are Marcel Andry (John Curtis), Lajalein Smith (St. Charles) and Tylor Harris (Episcopal). The linebackers — all seniors — are Cardell Silas (John Curtis), Shawn Burst (Northlake Christian), Malcolm Cooper (Homer) and Josh Savage (Lake Arthur).

Rasco’s teammate Dionte McDuffy was named to the secondary along with East Feliciana’s D’Vontay Hogan, St. Charles’ Brady Hitt and Rosepine’s Klint White. Calvary’s Ira Jewitt was the kick return specialist and Jared Keating from St. Charles was the punter.

East Feliciana’s Anderson had his own challenges. The Class 2A Coach of the Year led the newly consolidated school to a surprising berth in the state semifinals. Clinton and Jackson — longtime rivals —were combined to form East Feliciana over the summer.

“We were just hoping for a decent season, and it actually turned into a really, really good season,” said Anderson, who graduated from Clinton High in 1991. “The consolidation wasn’t finalized until late June, so we basically had the month of July to work with. We tried to create a family-like atmosphere.”

East Feliciana finished 12-1 after its semifinal loss to John Curtis. One of Anderson’s biggest tasks was just getting his players to the right field for practice. The team practiced two days in Clinton and two days in Jackson. The high school is in Jackson, but the team played its games in Clinton.

“People always get a good laugh from it,” Anderson said. “We were up and down the highway all the time.”

His quarterback Kendell Beckwith — just a sophomore — earned a spot on the team as an athlete.

Joining Beckwith on that side of the ball was quarterback Rachal, a senior who nabbed the Offensive Outstanding Player with 2,574 total yards and 31 touchdowns in the regular season. Wide receivers Odell Beckham (Newman), Rod Davis (Many) and 6-foot-6, 215-pound tight end Harley Scioneaux from St. Charles also made the team.

The team’s running backs are Jeanerette’s Anthony Williams, who led the Acadiana area with 1,756 yards on 225 carries and 18 touchdowns, John Curtis’ Torrey Pierce, who had 662 yards in six regular season games and St. Charles’ Marcus Hall, who ran for 1,151 yards.

They wouldn’t have that ground game without their trusty offensive linemen.

The all-state unit included Justin Toups (John Curtis), Dale Martin (Riverside Academy), Jacob Rhodes (South Beauregard), Michael Crosslin (Calvary) and Corey White (Capitol).


First-team Offense

Pos. Player School Ht. Wt. Cl.

WR Odell Beckham Newman 6-0 180 Sr.

WR Rod Davis Many 6-3 185 Sr.

TE Harley Scioneaux St. Charles 6-6 215 Sr.

OL Justin Toups John Curtis 5-10 230 Sr.

OL Dale Martin Riverside Academy 6-2 240 Sr.

OL Jacob Rhodes South Beauregard 6-3 175 Sr.

OL Michael Crosslin Calvary Baptist 6-0 215 Sr.

OL Corey White Capitol High Academy 6-5 305 Sr.

QB Darnell Rachal Riverside Academy 5-8 180 Sr.

RB Anthony Williams Jeanerette 6-1 200 Sr.

RB Torrey Pierce John Curtis 5-9 185 Sr.

RB Marcus Hall St. Charles 5-8 160 Jr.

PK Richard Brennan Newman 6-3 185 Sr.

ATH Kendell Beckwith East Feliciana 6-3 210 So.

First-team Defense

Pos. Player School Ht. Wt. Cl.

DL Marcel Andry John Curtis 6-1 280 Jr.

DL Lajalein Smith St. Charles 6-0 215 Jr.

DL Jermauria Rasco Evangel Christian 6-3 227 Sr.

DL Tylor Harris Episcopal 6-3 235 Jr.

LB Cardell Silas John Curtis 5-10 220 Sr.

LB Shawn Burst Northlake Christian 6-1 220 Sr.

LB Malcolm Cooper Homer 5-10 198 Sr.

LB Josh Savage Lake Arthur 5-10 205 Sr.

DB Brady Hitt St. Charles 5-11 180 Sr.

DB Klint White Rosepine 5-11 190 Sr.

DB Dionte McDuffy Evangel Christian 5-10 190 Sr.

DB De'Vontay Hogan East Feliciana 6-2 180 Sr.

KR Ira Jewitt Calvary Baptist 5-7 150 Sr.

P Jared Keating St. Charles 5-10 175 Sr.

OUTSTANDING OFFENSIVE PLAYER: Darnell Rachal, Riverside Academy

OUTSTANDING DEFENSIVE PLAYER: Jermauria Rasco, Evangel Christian Academy

COACH OF THE YEAR: Cedric Anderson, East Feliciana

Honorable mention: Josh Hanberry, John Curtis; DeQuian Matthews, DeQuincy; Devon Breaux, Donaldsonville; Tre’ Brown, Donaldsonville; Courtland Joshua, Donaldsonville; Tekemian Ceasar, East Feliciana; Joseph Robinson, East Feliciana; Mike Henry, Episcopal; Jared Rogers, Episcopal; David Dee Duron, Evangel; Dionte McDuffy, Evangel; Vece Braggs, Farmerville; D’Mardrei Richardson, Farmerville; Da’Vonte Scott, Ferriday; Trent Hargrave, Lake Arthur; Lamar Carraway, Lake Providence; B.J. Greene, Loreauville; Nick Julien, Loreauville; Jonathan Lewis, Many; Ryan Brenner, Newman; Chase Crowell, Newman; Tyler Clark, Northlake Christian; Derek Williams, Northlake Christian; Andrew Vicknair, Riverside Academy; C.J. Vedell, Port Barre; Gary Suydam, Rosepine; Grant Bardin, Sterlington; Jordan Johnson, South Beauregard; Cody Jones, Ville Platte; Alonzo Moore, Winnfield; Wes Fischer, Newman.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us