Forest, Choudrant top Class B All-State teams


Written for the LSWA

One team was ranked at the top all year long and fulfilled that promise. The other team was seeded 12th, but that didn't stop them from winning a state title.

The Forest Bulldogs and Choudrant Lady Aggies each landed three players on the Class B All-State baseball and softball teams selected by a panel of the Louisiana Sports Writers Association members.

Cora LaCombe of Avoyelles Charter garnered Outstanding Player honors on the softball squad, while Choudrant’s Jacob Farrar won the same honor the baseball squad.

Tiffany Ritchie of Avoyelles Charter and Lamar Boudreaux of Converse won Coach of the Year honors.

Forest beat Choudrant in the title game to win its first state title since 2006. The Forest trio of senior Connor Matthews, junior Logan Pippen and sophomore Chris Brown make the squad. Matthews batted .362 for the Bulldogs, while Brown and Pippen batted .420 and .415, respectively.

Choudrant beat four higher-seeded teams to claim the softball title, beating Avoyelles Charter in the final game. Choudrant was represented on the team by seniors Krista Howard (.361) and Thelma Jerro (.278), along with junior Taylor Oglesbee (.291).

The state runners-up still claimed three of the four top honors from the LSWA.

LaCombe, an all-stater two years ago in Class C at St. Joseph-Plaucheville, went 18-5 in the circle for Avoyelles Charter, while Ritchie took a third-year program to the brink of a championship.

Avoyelles Charter also landed sophomore Elizabeth McNabb (.354) and junior Catie Kuplesky (.333) on the squad.

In baseball, Choudrant’s Farrar had a 7-3 record on the mound and averaged nearly 10 strikeouts per game, while Boudreaux guided Converse to a 28-3 record and its first appearance in the semifinals since 1992.

Farrar’s Choudrant teammate Cody Younse, a junior who batted .320, was named to the all-state team, while Boudreaux saw two of his players, juniors Allen Litton (.440) and Dillon Paddie (.416), make the squad.

Oak Hill also placed three players on the softball squad, the junior trio of Amber Jarrell (13-9), Courtney Ivey (.395) and Courtney Barton (.360).

Rounding out the softball squad were Holden senior Blake Ray (.703), Simpson junior Stephanie Averitt (.514), Pitkin freshman Hailee Anding (.478), Houma Christian senior Lauren Crowdus (.363), Forest seniors Jesi Paris (20-7) and Abby Harris (.372) and Grand Lake freshman Rebecca Monceaux (.360).

Completing the all-state baseball squad were Stanley senior Tyler Anderson (.323), Oak Hill sophomore pitcher Paul Carpenter (9-0), Fairview senior Lyndal Williams (14-6), Pitkin senior Trevor West (.478, 13 HR), Grand Lake senior Hunter Leger (.358), Ricky Smith of Bethany Christian (.482), Florien junior Trent Partridge (9-5) and the Holden senior duo of Trey Coats (.567) and Trey Bishop (11-4).



First team

Name School Cl Stats

Blake Ray Holden Sr. .703

Stephanie Averitt Simpson Jr. .514

Hailee Anding Pitkin Fr. .478

Lauren Crowdus Houma Christian Sr. .363

Amber Jarrell Oak Hill Jr. 13-9

Krista Howard Choudrant Sr. .361

Courtney Barton Oak Hill Jr. .360

Thelma Jerro Choudrant Sr. .278

Courtney Ivey Oak Hill Jr. .368

Cora Lacombe Avoyelles Charter Sr. 18-5

Jesi Paris Forest Sr. 20-7

Elizabeth McNabb Avoyelles Charter So. .354

Abby Harris Forest Sr. .372

Taylor Oglesbee Choudrant Jr. .291

Catie Kuplesky Avoyelles Charter Jr. .333

Rebecca Monceaux Grand Lake Fr. .360



Honorable mention: Jasmine Miller, Grand Lake; Maggie Kurtzuba, Negreet; Sydni Veuleman, Negreet; Alyssa Cartinez, Converse; Casey Dixon, Converse; Brittany Salaiz, Converse; Marci West, Simpson; Mackenzie Kelly, Simpson; Taylor Ellzey, Simpson; Alexis Thompson, Simpson; Ali Merchant, Pitkin; Amber McCallon, Pitkin; Tori Prell, Hornbeck; Chance Cronce, Singer; Emily McGrew, Choudrant; Julie Smith, Choudrant; Hailey Gray, Forest; Anna Beth Reardon, Forest; Kristyn Craig, Converse; Haley Grantham, Holden; Lindsay Crowdus, Houma Christian.


First team

Name School Cl Stats

Tyler Anderson Stanley Sr. .323

Paul Carpenter Oak Hill So. 9-0

Connor Matthews Forest Sr. .362

Logan Pippen Forest Jr. .415

Chris Brown Forest So. .420

Lyndal Williams Fairview Sr. 14-6

Trevor West Pitkin Sr. .478

Allen Litton Converse Jr. .440

Dillon Paddie Converse Jr. .416

Jacob Farrar Choudrant Sr. 7-3

Cody Younse Choudrant Jr. .320

Hunter Leger Grand Lake Sr. .358

Trey Coats Holden Sr. .567

Trey Bishop Holden Sr. 11-4

Ricky Smith Bethany Christian .482

Trent Partridge Florien Jr. 9-5



Honorable mention: Tyler Thiels, Oak Hill; Jake Howard, Fairview; Tyler Maddox, Fairview; Kendal Abel, Pitkin; Paul Willis, Pitkin; Slade Deason, Pitkin; Kyle Myers, Simpson; Dillon Crain, Converse; Darwin Wright, Converse; Joshua Farmer, Converse; Martin Crain, Converse; Joey Chandler, Simsboro; Chris Raburn, Simsboro; Chuck Foti, Episcopal School of Acadiana; Pete Lowery, Episcopal School of Acadiana; Ray Hutchinson, Holden; Chase Barrett, Bethany Christian; Canse Malmay, Zwolle; Tyler Lannin, Grand Lake; Shain Erwin, Florien.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us