Gueydan's DeRouen named to Class 1A All-State team

State champion Ouachita Christian claimed two of the top individual honors on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 1A All-State Football team.

Braden Bristo and Cade Harper led the way for the Eagles. Bristo was selected as the Offensive Most Valuable Player after accounting for 2,115 yards and 27 touchdowns while playing quarterback and receiver. He also was selected to the team as athlete.

Harper, a linebacker, was voted the Defensive MVP by a panel of sportswriters from across the state after compiling 137 tackles and three sacks for OCS team that has won the last two 1A state titles and a total of 30 straight games. Harper led an Eagle defense that shut out eight opponents.

Pointe Coupee Central’s Lawrence Brown was honored as the Coach of the Year after leading the Cougars to an 8-3 record that included the first district title and playoff win in school history.

Ouachita Christian landed three other players on the team -- offensive lineman Gustave Guillioux, tight end David Joe Branch (21 catches, 321 yards, 8 TDs) and linebacker Jordan Washam (145 tackles, 10 sacks).

Runner-up Haynesville placed running back CaVontae Critton on the team. Critton was one of only two juniors to make the all-state team for offense. The other was kicker Jansen Jackson of Country Day (6-of-8 field goals).

Other running backs on the all-state squad include Kylum Favorite of West St. John, a returning all-state selection from the Rams’ semifinals team, and Trevor DeRouen of Gueydan. DeRouen rushed for 1,915 yards and 25 TDs on 232 carries. Favorite rushed for 1,100 yards and 17 touchdowns.

West St. John also landed an offensive lineman on the team with Micah Claiborne. Semifinalist Kentwood placed offensive lineman Javari Nichols on the squad. K.J. Malone of Cedar Creek and Emmett Burton of Block completed the offensive line.

Pointe Coupee Central’s David St. Cyr (42 catches, 1,052 yards, 12 TDs) and Westminster Christian’s Jalen Williams (51-747, 9 TDs) were the receivers. Southern Lab’s Deonte Shorts, who completed 135 of 222 passes for 2,315 yards and 31 TDs, was voted the quarterback.

West St. John placed three defenders on the all-state team with defensive back Justin Bethancourt (40 tackles. 6 interceptions, four tackles for loss) and returning all-state selection Dontre Turner (107 tackles, seven sacks, five forced fumbles) at linebacker as well as defensive line Eric Bell (47 tackles, 17 tackles for loss, six sacks, four forced fumbles).

Kentwood also placed two defenders -- as defensive back Leslie Collins (two interceptions) and defensive end Torandon Watson – on the squad. Watson recorded 34 tackles and three sacks during his senior season.

Other defensive linemen on the team include Jahmal Macklin of Block (79 tackles, 12 sacks) and Richmond Jackson of Country Day (63 tackles, three sacks). Elton’s Micah Lavan (53 tackles and 18 tackles for loss) was the other linebacker.

Other defensive backs chosen were Joey Faulk of Vermilion Catholic and Wesley Bellard of Westminster Chrisian. Faulk led his team with 122 tackles, 13 tackles for loss, and two interceptions. Bellard recorded 82 tackles and seven interceptions during his senior season.

Ryan Bossier of False River was selected as 1A All-State punter after averaging 44.3 yards per punt, while Scott Ross of Elton was picked as kick returner after tallying 760 return yards.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us