Independence announces the winners of Christmas parade

The honorary judges for the parade were: Bertha Mendez of the El Parentie Latino Store, Peter Armato, owner of Pete's Pharmacy and Brent Phillips of Angie's Bar and Grill.

Winners are: 

Best Band                       Independence High School

Best Decorated Float               Piggly Wiggly

Best Marching Group               Nesom Middle School Cheerleaders

Best Decorated Car/Truck         Lea Leto / Italian Festival Queen


The Independence Chamber of Commerce would like to thank everyone that helped with our town lighting and Christmas parade. A special thanks to the Independence City Employees and Board for their assistance. Special thanks is given to Rene Petz and Augustus the Clydesdale, Terry Basso, the Independence Police and Fire Departments, TC Wells, Choirs (adult and children), our many volunteers and everyone that adopted trees and especially to the citizens of Tangipahoa Parish that attended the events.

For more information on activites in Independence see their website at or email Rhonda Crocker at

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us