Iota's Fantroy named 5-2A Offensive MVP

IOTA – When it came down to it, no one player was more valuable to their team in District 5-2A in 2012 than Brandon Fantroy was to Iota’s Bulldogs.

The all-everything senior was used in nearly every aspect of the game from running back to defensive back to kick returner to punt returner.

He did it all and he did it well.

As a running back, Fantroy led the Bulldogs’ rushing attack with 1,077 yards and 17 touchdowns on 188 carries. In addition, he hauled in 14 passes for 329 yards and three touchdowns.

As a kick returner, he logged another 234 yards and had 57 yards on punt returns for a total of 1,697 all-purpose yards.

That type of production didn’t go unnoticed by league coaches, who named Fantroy their Offensive MVP on the 5-2A All-District team.

Ville Platte nailed down the other two top honors in Coach of the Year Tracey Jagneaux and Defensive MVP Deandre Doucet.

Fantroy is joined on the first-team offense by teammates Hayden Meyers and Thomas Murrell.

Meyers made the team as an offensive lineman while Murrell got on at running back.

Murrell rushed for 886 yards and eight touchdowns and also had six receptions for 71 yards and one touchdown.

Ville Platte, the district champion, dominated the first-team offense with seven selections.

Isaiah Thomas made the team at quarterback while Jermarcus Jones got on at running back and Kendall Ardoin is the tight end,

Justin Charles is one of two receivers, Jordan Doucet is the center, Todd Cole made it at tackle and Alex Hefele is the kicker.

Ville Platte snagged five more slots on defense including lineman James Wilson, linebacker Dayton Jackson and defensive backs Tranail Ben and Perez Thomas.

Mamou landed Aaron Manuel at guard, Justin Charles at receiver and Seth Cortina at return specialist on offense.

Defensively, Korey Limoges made it as a lineman, Corey Harris got on at linebacker and Kye Fontenot is listed at defensive back.

Pine Prairie’s lone first-team selection is GiJuan Anderson at the athlete position.

Oakdale’s Markus Santamaire made the squad on offense at tackle while Keon Thomas (DL), B.J. Allison (LB), Melvin Satcher (DB)and Nick Adams (P) were named to the defensive squad.

Bunkie’s lone first-team selection is defensive lineman John Williams

Iota’s Tyler Bushnell made the second-team offense at center while Jarette Fontenot and Billy Bean were selected to the second- team defensive line.

Tim Lunson also made the second team at defensive back.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us