Jurors pick officers


Managing Editor

Acadia Parish Police Jurors quickly moved through a business-laden agenda Tuesday night.

Officer elections topped the agenda and Jurors A.J. Credeur and Cade Benoit was swiftly unanimously re-elected to second terms as president and vice president.

As his first official act, Credeur distributed service awards as follows:

Five Years: Monica Touchet and Patricia Pastor;

Ten Years: Richard Breaux, Troy Lantz, Brian Migues, Magdaline Savoy, Selena Broussard and Joseph LeJeune;

15 Years: Robert Bergeaux; and

20 Years: Ruby Dalcour.

Jurors endorsed a bid by Jeff Davis Juror John P. Marceaux to serve as member-at-large on the Executive Committee of the Louisiana Police Jury Association.

Jurors also approved a resolution supporting the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program as requested by Sharon Clement of the ASSIST Agency.

Dickie Olivier was directed to bring his complaint about Ron Lawson’s building inspection qualifications to the state certification board.

Glenn Stokes, head of MCCI, told jurors that his firm had saved $432,000 in expenses for the mosquito control program. Juror A.J. “Fatty” Broussard disputed Stokes’ figures.

Because the Jury has abolished the Airport District and its board, Jurors accepted the following members on a Airport Advisory Committee: Austin Cormier, Lewis Broussard, Dr. Ed Moody, II, and Jurors Kermit Richard, T. J. Sonnier, Cade Benoit and Felton “Tony” Moreau.

Jurors adopted several salary increases as recommended by the Finance Committee:

• Secretarial salary increases were approved for the Judicial District Judge’s staff;

• The District Attorney and his employees received a 5 percent pay increase and 5 percent pay increases were approved for all jury employees;

•The parish coroner and his two assistance were granted 5 percent pay raises; and

• The Jury’s secretary-treasurer’s salary was increased from $50,000 to $60,000.

Jurors also renamed members to the parish’s fire districts and Tourist Commissions as follows:

Fire District #1: Charles Bellard and Michael Cormier;

Fire District #2: Guy Cuccio, Jeffery Murrell, and Blaine Lecombe;

Fire District #4: Richard Ruppert, Steve Miller and John Kurta;

Fire District #6: Donald Borges and Pat Kirsch;

Fire District #7: Jackie Prejean and Dwight Hebert;

Fire District #8: Steven Campbell, Johnnie Schexnayder, Sr., and Gerald Sonnier; and

Fire District #9: Chad Abshire.

Frances Bihm was reappointed to the Acadia Tourist Commission.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us