Kelsey Primeaux named 2010 Miss Rayne

By Lisa Soileaux

Assistant Editor

Kelsey Paige Primeaux, the 17-year-old daughter of Paulette and Alcide Primeaux of Rayne, was named the new Miss Rayne on Saturday, August 28, during the 2010 Miss Rayne competition held “Under the Big Top” at the Rayne Civic Center by the City of Rayne carrying a circus theme.

Kelsey is a senior at Rayne High School where she keeps busy with school organizations including varsity cheerleading, Student Council, and National Honor Society. She is also a 14-member of the local dance school and keeps busy assisting with local and community organizations.

Crowning her successor was the 2009 honoree, Dakota Henry. Assisting with the presentations were Mayor Jim Petitjean and committee members Josie Henry and William LeBlanc.

Named First Runner-Up and princess to the Ray*la*ne Festival was Taylor Faith Venable, 18-yearold daughter of Daniel and Terri Venable of Rayne. Taylor is a freshman at UL-Lafayette where she plans to attain a nursing degree. Making her presentations were Mayor Pro-Tem Paul Molbert and Chamber President Angie Broussard.

Taylor was also awarded the Miss Congeniality banner by Rayne City Council Gerald Foreman and 2007 Miss Rayne honoree Jennifer Robichaux. This special award is voted upon by the contestants following weeks of preparations and events attended by the contestants.

Keyasha Symone Minix was named Second Runner-Up and princess to the International Rice Festival. She is the 18-year-old daughter of Karen and Gregory Minix, Sr. of Rayne and a freshman majoring in nursing at LSU-Eunice. Making her presentations were Rayne City Councilman Butch Abshire and committee member Mandy Q. Blackmon.

Keyasha was also presented the People’s Choice Award during the pageant, awarded to the contestant as it is voted upon by the attending audience. She was awarded by committee member Ellen Guidry and

Serving as emcee and chairperson for the event was Rayne Cultural Director Cheryl Richard.

The competition for Miss Rayne consisted of the following segments: interview, sportswear, introductions, with a circus themed dance number, evening gown, and an on-stage conversation with Mayor Jim Petitjean.

Judges were Candice Scriber, Connie Dumatrait and Susan Dore.

The official auditor for the competition was Nicole Guidry from First National Bank.

Committee members were Angie Broussard, William LeBlanc, Ellen Guidry, Brooke Berzas, Josie Henry, Allison Guidry, Miles Boudreaux and Nikki Link.

In addition to the numerous special guests in attendance were a number of past Miss Rayne title holders, including Rose Marie Robichaux Stelly (1957), Susan Venable Gremilion (1981), Mona Venable Doucet (1989), Shelly Melancon Rhodes (1992), Jennifer James Autin (2001), Angelle Venable (2003), Mandy Quebodeaux Blackmon (2004), and Jennifer Robichaux (2007).

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us