Lady Pios land five on 5-3A All-District basketball squad

CROWLEY – The Notre Dame Lady Pios’ basketball team recently wrapped up one of their most successful regular seasons in recent history by winning 26 games and claiming the outright District 4-3A championship.

The Lady Pios (9-1 in league play) were rewarded for their efforts when they placed five players on the three-team All-District squad that was recently released by the league’s coaches.

Notre Dame took home one of the top two honors as well: Nolan Theriot was named the league’s Coach of the Year.

Theriot guided the Lady Pios to the No. 4 seed in the Class 3A playoffs where his team defeated Bogalusa and Avoyelles before falling to eventual state champion Rayville in the quarterfinals.

South Beauregard’s Morgan Dailey was named the team’s Most Valuable Player after averaging 19 points a game and leading the Lady K’s to a runner-up finish in league play. She also averaged three assists, five rebounds and four steals per game.

Joining Dailey from Notre Dame on the first team were Alex Miller and Sam Lyons.

Miller, who was edged out by Dailey in the MVP voting, averaged 12.4 points per game. The junior guard also logged 8.3 rebounds, 4.1 steals and 5.7 assists per outing.

Lyons, also a junior, averaged 7.6 points, 8.1 rebounds, 3.1 assists and 2.4 steals.

Crowley High’s Mercedes Rogers was also named to the first unit along with South Beauregard’s Shanna Barron.

Rogers, a senior forward, averaged a double-double for the Ladies with 14 points and 11 rebounds a game. She also averaged six steals, three blocks and two assists.

Barron, a sophomore, logged eight points, five rebounds, three assists and three steals.

Notre Dame’s Gabbie Romero and Madeline LeJeune were named to the second team along with Crowley’s Tiara Dugard, South Beauregard’s Katherin Manuel and Westlake’s Jaden Tonner.

Romero, a junior, averaged 10.4 points, 4.2 rebounds, 3.25 steals and two assists while LeJeune, a sophomore, averaged 10.3 points, 8.4 rebounds, 2.2 steals and 1.9 assists.

Dugar, a senior guard, led the Ladies in scoring with 16 points per game. She also had three rebounds, three steals and one assist per outing.

Notre Dame senior Liddy Rothermel and Crowley High’s sophomore Teara Breaux were named to the All-Defensive team along with Iowa’s Karley Corbello, Jennings’ Courtney Broussard, South Beauregard’s Lauren Lee and Westlake’s Tynisha Tanner.

Honorable mentions on this year’s team include Notre Dame’s Katherine Kirsch and Elise LeBeouf, Crowley High’s Alanna Plummer, Jennings’ Sydni Duplichan and Jada Bradley, South Beauregard’s Lauren Lee and Shelby Spann and Iowa’s Karley Corbello.

4-3A Boys

Westlake’s Doug Morris was named the District 4-3A Coach of the Year after leading his Rams to the league title with an 8-2 record.

Morris’ Rams went 16-9 on the season and earned the No. 10 seed in the Class 3A playoffs where they were upended in the first round by No. 23 Parkview Baptist.

South Beauregard’s Chad Barmore was tabbed as the league’s Most Valuable Player after averaging 18.3 points and 12.9 rebounds in district play.

Crowley High’s Damon Malbrough was named to the first-team after averaging a double-double with 11.5 points and 11.5 rebounds per game.

The Gents’ leading scorer, sophomore Marcus Williams, was named to the second team after averaging 17.5 points and 12 points. Also on the second team is Notre Dame junior Tre Milstead. He averaged 10.3 points and five rebounds.

Crowley High’s Danny Malbrough and Notre Dame’s Luke Habetz were each named to the All-Defensive team.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us