Honorees introduced during 2014 BSP Sweetheart Ball


By LIsa Soileaux

The 2014 Beta Sigma Phi Annual Sweetheart Ball was held Saturday, Feb. 8, at the Rayne Civic Center by the local Beta Sigma Phi chapters.

Each year, Beta Sigma Phi honors young ladies and gentlemen who are high school seniors and have achieved community, academic and athletic excellence. These outstanding young people comprise the junior court, while the senior court consists of two members of each BSP chapter (Sweetheart and Girl of the Year) as they are voted upon by their peers.

Since the founding in 1931, Beta Sigma Phi has grown to be the largest social, service and cultural organization in the world. In Rayne, there are four active chapters, Laureate Lambda, Preceptor Alpha Iota, Preceptor Alpha Chi, and Gamma Kappa.

Young ladies honored on the junior court were Taylor Michelle Arceneaux, daughter of DeWayne and Michelle Arceneaux; Haley Marie Comeaux, daughter of Christopher and Eva Comeaux; Allison Daigle, daughter of Kevin and Carole Daigle; Leah Dailey, daughter of Clayton and Ellen Dailey; Sidney René Fontenot, daughter of Scott and Mona Fontenot; Mollie Kate Gossen, daughter of Keith and Julie Gossen; Mia Guidry, daughter of Pam Guidry and Danny Guidry; Erin LeBlanc, daughter of Barry and Josette LeBlanc; Katelyn Paige LeDoux, daughter of David and Delilah LeDoux; Claire Ann Menard, daughter of Dr. James Menard and Lisa Menard; Lindsey Marie Meyer, daughter of James and Patricia Meyer; Mary Wayne Peltier, daughter of Wayne and Patricia Peltier; Riley Pryor, daughter of Edward and Angie Pryor; Aislinn Jade Thibodeaux, daughter of Joseph Thibodeaux and Angie and Mark Frugé; and Kaitlyn Anne Thibodeaux, daughter of Robert and Tiffany Gossen.

The slate of young gentlemen included Cooper Reed Boullion, son of Brandon and Kylie Boullion and Courtney Prejean; Wyatt Daniel Breaux, son of Scott and Traci Breaux; Matthew Doré, son of Greg and Tammi Doré; Kameron Falcon, son of Al and Jennifer Falcon; Andrew Patrick Granger, son of Lawrence and Patricia Granger; Kyler Paul Habetz, son of Kevin and Kathy Habetz; Tyler LeJeune, son of Emry and Dina LeJeune; Matthew McIntyre, son of Jack and Denise McIntyre; Danon Melancon, son of Danny and Paula Melancon; Curt Petitjean, son of Martin Petitjean III and Lisa Michele Hagan; Logan John Roche, son of Shannon Roche and Mandy Roche; Hunter Stelly, son of Timmy and Dana Stelly; Samuel Veillon, son of Mark and Michele Veilon; Jack Wagar, son of John and Angie Wagar; and Royce Zaunbrecher, son of Dennis and Angie Zaunbrecher.

Ladies selected as Sweethearts from their respective BSP chapter were Dawn Gerine of Gamma Kappa, Ashley Guidry of Preceptor Alpha Chi, and Lorraine Simoneaux of  Preceptor Alpha Iota.

Girls of the Year included the following BSP members: Rhonda Kidder of Gamma Kappa, Marlene Habetz of Preceptor Alpha Chi, and Jeanette Daigle of Preceptor Alpha Iota.

Introductions of the honorees began at 7 p.m. Emcee for the evening was Renee Harrelson.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us