Laureate Mu Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi enjoys decorative painting presentation

Shirley Griffin presented a program on the National Society of Tole and Decorative Painters at the meeting of Laureate Mu Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi held at her home on May 6. She showed members several examples of her work.

Officers for the 2014-2015 club year installed at the May 6 meeting of the Laureate Mu Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi included, from left, Shirley Griffin (vice president), Nancy Tislow (president) and Glenda Atkinson (treasurer). Also installed but not pictured was Brenella Joubert (secretary).


Shirley Griffin presented a program on the National Society of Tole and Decorative Painters at the May meeting of Laureate Mu Chapter of Beta Sigma Phi held at her home on Tuesday, the sixth.

Griffin explained that the society was organized in 1972 to stimulate worldwide interest in and appreciation for decorative painting, to recognize diversity of and excellence in the art form and to serve as the resource center for all aspects of decorative painting. 

Decorative painting is a diverse art form utilizing a variety of techniques and media to decorate functional and non-functional surfaces. It is a highly teachable art form, with the patterns or freehand designs  allowing a high degree of success without academic training or inherent drawing ability. Griffin displayed examples of her decorative painting.

Officers installed for the new year are as follows: president, Nancy Tislow; and vice president, Shirley Griffin. Glenda Atkinson, treasurer, and Brenella Joubert, secretary, will continue to hold those offices.

Committee chairmen for the coming year are: program and publicity, Elsie Rowell; yearbook, Shirley Griffin and Nancy Tislow; scrapbook, Glenda Atkinson and Brenella Joubert; service, Gloria Stutes; calling, Jean Hanks; and cultural outings, Connie Jaubert. 

Glenda Atkinson presented the scrapbook for the years 2012 to 2014 to outgoing president, Elsie Rowell. Atkinson reported that she had purchased Mother’s Day cards for the daughters of members.

The Founder’s Day Banquet, which was held with members of Eta Kappa Chapter on April 30 at the Town Club, was discussed. Receiving awards were Shirley Griffin, Woman of the Year; Brenella Joubert, best program; Jean Hanks, best program with a guest speaker; and Gloria Cart and Nancy Tislow, perfect attendance. Elsie Rowell was recognized for 50 years of service as a member of Beta Sigma Phi. 

Everyone enjoyed the trip to the Louisiana Spirits Distillery on April 2, followed by lunch afterwards at Cajun Tales in Welch.

Members brought bathroom tissue to be delivered to Miss Helen’s Soup Kitchen and were asked to bring scrubbing pads to the June meeting, which will be held at the home of Glenda Atkinson.

It was decided that the chapter would attend the matinee performance of “Nunsense II” on June 15 at the Grand Opera House. 

The hostess served delicious refreshments to those present, Gloria Cart, Glenda Atkinson, Elsie Rowell, Gloria Stutes and Nancy Tislow.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us