Three-Ten Club wraps up year

THE POST-SIGNAL / Saja Hoffpauir
Hosting the May meeting of the Three-Ten Club were the club year 2013-2014 officers, from left, Sandy Melancon, Peggy Sandidge, Kay Fruge and Bobbie de la Houssaye. The meeting was held at de la Houssaye’s Crowley home.

THE POST-SIGNAL / Saja Hoffpauir
Suzanne Gray, far left, installed the Three-Ten Club’s officers for the upcoming year at the club’s May meeting. Installed were, seated, Sandy Melancon (president); standingsecond from left, Sissy Gall (secretary), Gretchen Ohlenforst (vice president) and Bobbie de la Houssaye (treasurer).


The members of the Three-Ten Club met on the evening of Tuesday, May 20, at the home of Bobbie de la Houssaye for their last meeting of the club year. 

In addition to de la Houssaye, hostess duties were shared by the women who had served as club officers for the past year, including Sandy Melancon, who had served as president; Kay Fruge, who had served as vice president; and Peggy Sandidge, who had served as secretary. de la Houssaye had served as the club’s treasurer. 

Melancon presided over the meeting, with various committee chairs giving reports on their activities and committee assignments being made for the coming year.

Suzanne Gray, chair of the nominating committee, installed the officers who will serve throughout the 2014-2015 club year. In a clever ceremony using “spices” as a theme, she installed Melancon as president using pepper to represent “enhancement;” Gretchen Ohlenforst as vice president using cloves and mustard to represent “zip and tang;” Sissy Gall as secretary using rosemary to represent “remembrance;” and de la Houssaye as treasurer, using parsley to represent her handling of the club’s money.

Gray also recognized the outgoing officers and thanked them for their dedication.

Members then enjoyed fellowship and delicious refreshment. Attending were Carolyn Barousse, Florette Bergeron, Muff Bier, Bobbie de la Houssaye, Isabella de la Houssaye, Betty Faulk, Jackie Fogleman, Letza Fogleman, Mary Freeland, Kay Fruge, Sissy Gall, Suzanne Gray, Joellen Hindman, Flo Jones,  Imogene Lacour, Brucie Landry, Patti Lawrence, Sandy Melancon, Gretchen Ohlenforst, Georgie Petitjean, Peggy Sandidge, Valerie Trahan, Alice Whiting and associate member Wilda Stringer.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us