LSU to square off with Virginia Saturday in CWS

BATON ROUGE – Third-seeded LSU will square off with Virginia on day 1 of the 2009 College World Series, Saturday, June 13, at 6 p.m., the NCAA announced on Monday evening.

All games will be played at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Neb.

LSU (51-16) advanced to its 15th CWS by defeating Rice in consecutive games, 12-9 and 5-3, at Alex Box Stadium.

Virginia needed road victories over UC Irvine in the NCAA Regional and Ole Miss in the Super Regional to advance to Omaha for the first time.

World Series Schedule

Saturday, June 13

Game 1: Arkansas vs. (2) Cal St. Fullerton, 1 p.m. on ESPN

Game 2: Virginia vs. (3) LSU, 6 p.m. on ESPN

Sunday, June 14

Game 3: (5) Arizona St. vs. (4) North Carolina, 1 p.m. on ESPN

Game 4: Southern Miss vs. (1) Texas, 6 p.m. on ESPN2

Monday, June 15

Game 5: Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 1 p.m. on ESPN2

Game 6: Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 6 p.m. on ESPN2

Tuesday, June 16

Game 7: Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 1 p.m. on ESPN2

Game 8: Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 6 p.m. on ESPN2

Wednesday, June 17

Game 9: Game 5 Winner vs. Game 6 Loser, 6 p.m. on ESPN2

Thursday, June 18

Game 10: Game 7 Winner vs. Game 8 Loser, 6 p.m. on ESPN2

Friday, June 19

Game 11: Game 6 Winner vs. Game 9 Winner, 1 p.m. on ESPN2

Game 12: Game 8 Winner vs. Game 10 Winner, 6 p.m. on ESPN2

Saturday, June 20

Game 13: Game 11 Winner vs. Game 11 Loser, 1 p.m. ESPN

Game 14: Game 12 Winner vs. Game 12 Loser, 6 p.m. on ESPN

Monday, June 22

Finals Game 1: 6 p.m. on ESPN

Tuesday, June 23

Finals Game 2: 6 p.m. on ESPN

Wednesday, June 24

Finals Game 3: 6 p.m. on ESPN

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us