LSU's Peterson on Thorpe Award Watch List

BATON ROUGE -- The preseason honors continue to roll in for LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson as the junior was named to the watch list for the 2010 Jim Thorpe Award, which is presented to college football's best defensive back, it was announced on Monday.

Peterson, a native of Pompano Beach, Fla., is one of six Southeastern Conference players on the list, joining Florida's Janoris Jenkins and Will Hill, Mark Barron of Alabama, Stephon Gilmore of South Carolina and Georgia's Brandon Boykin.

Peterson, a preseason first-team All-SEC recipient, is also on the watch lists for the Lott Trophy and Nagurski Trophy. He is a unanimous selection to every preseason publication's All-America team.

Peterson led all SEC cornerbacks with 13 passes defended last season while recording 52 tackles, including 43 solo stops. He also scored two touchdowns.

The Thorpe Award is one of college football's most sought after and prestigious awards. It is named after history's greatest all-around athlete, a man who excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on offense, but also was an awesome defensive back. Recognized in the Pro Football Hall of Fame simply as "The Legend", Thorpe also played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

A "Screening Committee" of Jim Thorpe Association members follows these players throughout the season, watching games and researching information sources to grade Thorpe Award candidates on the basis of performance on the field, athletic ability and character. The committee meets on the first Monday in November to narrow the field to 10 or 12 semi-finalists.

The committee meets again on the Monday before Thanksgiving to select the three finalists. The names of these finalists are submitted to a national panel of about 50 sports writers, sportscasters, coaches and former players who vote to determine the winner. The three finalists are invited to the ESPN College Football Awards Show (Dec. 9 at 6 p.m. CT), and the winner is announced during the show. The award will be presented on Feb. 7, 2011, in Oklahoma City.

Safety Eric Berry of Tennessee won the 2009 award.

Other watch lists:

Lott Trophy, April 21 (CB Patrick Peterson, LB Kelvin Sheppard)

Bronko Nagurski Trophy, June 21 (CB Patrick Peterson, LB Kelvin Sheppard)

Outland Trophy, June 21 (DT Drake Nevis)

Davey O'Brien Award, July 14

Jim Thorpe Award, Aug. 2 (CB Patrick Peterson)

Bednarik Award Aug. 9

Maxwell Award, Aug. 9

Walter Camp Award, Aug. 9

Biletnikoff Award, Aug. 10

Ray Guy Award, Aug. 11

Butkus Award, Aug. 16

Mackey Award, Aug. 16

Lou Groza Award, Aug. 20

Rotary Lombardi Award, Aug. 20

Doak Walker Award, Aug. 23

Rimington Trophy, Aug. 27

2010 Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

Prince Amukamara, CB, Nebraska

Mark Barron, S, Alabama

Brandon Boykin, CB, Georgia

Curtis Brown, CB, Texas

Kendric Burney, CB, North Carolina

Brandon Burton, CB, Utah

Rashad Carmichael, CB, Virginia Tech

Quinton Carter, S, Oklahoma

Chimdi Chekwa, CB, Ohio State

Don Decicco, S, Pittsburgh

Ras-I Dowling, CB, Virginia

Blake Gideon, S, Texas

Stephen Gilmore, CB, South Carolina

Brandon Harris, CB, Miami

Will Hill, S, Florida

Jermale Hines, S, Ohio State

Brandon Hogan, CB, West Virginia

Davon House, CB, New Mexico State

Duke Ihenacho, S, San Jose State

Jaiquwn Jarrett, S, Temple

Janoris Jenkins, CB, Florida

Jeron Johnson, S, Boise State

Tejay Johnson, S, TCU

Shiloh Keo, S, Idaho

Brian Lainhart, S, Kent State

DeAndre McDaniel, S, Clemson

Rahim Moore, S, UCLA

Johnny Patrick, CB, Louisville

Patrick Peterson, CB, LSU

Tyler Sash, S, Iowa

Robert Sands, S, West Virginia

Jimmy Smith, CB, Colorado

Trevin Wade, CB, Arizona

Deunta Williams, S, North Carolina

Aaron Williams, CB, Texas

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us