Major economic strategy plans unveiled for steering committee

CROWLEY - A collection of parish leaders, including nearly all of Acadia Parish’s mayors, were on hand for a Tuesday morning meeting with the Acadia Parish Police Jury to meet with representatives of Taimerica Management Company, a group focused on improving area economic development. The group was represented by Ed Bee, the company’s president, and his associate, Charlotte Batson.

All parish mayors, along with many other community leaders, have agreed to serve on a steering committee to oversee the Acadia Parish’s Economic Development efforts funded by mitigation grant following Hurricane Ike and Gustave.

The Acadia Parish Police Jury is working with the consulting firm of Taimerica Management Company in Mandeville, to prepare a strategic plan for the organization and future economic growth of the Parish.

The team of consultants will develop the economic development strategy in conjunction with the steering committee members’ advice.

Citizen survey

An important part of the process is an online survey on residents’ perception of the strengths and weaknesses of the Parish for economic development. Parish citizens are considered key stakeholders in the economic development of the Parish.

Citizens are being encouraged to take about five minutes to complete on online survey found at The link to the online survey can also be found at the Police Jury’s website.

Citizens’ confidential assessments of business conditions in Acadia Parish are critical to the creation of a workable strategy.

Members of the steering committee include Mayors Jim Petitjean of Rayne, Greg Jones of Crowley, David Fruge of Mermentau, Robert Istre of Morse, Roger Boudreaux of Church Point, Cynthia McDaniel of Iota, and Anthony Borill of Estherwood.

Joining the mayors will be Police Juror Thomas J. Sonnier, Jimmy Prevost of Rayne Realty, Greg Gouthreaux, president of the Lafayette Economic Development Authority, Pat Miers of LTC-Acadian Campus, John Daniel Gielen III, chairman of the ShopRite Board, William Nunez, chancellor of Louisiana State University at Eunice, Chris LeBas of Exterior Cleaning Services, John E. Bourque, Acadia school superintendent, and Parish Engineer Karl Aucoin.

Jury Secretary-Treasurer Terry Lacombe will serve as committee chairman.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us