McPherson withdraws, Holloway gets PSC seat

Clyde Holloway, R-Forest Hill, will take the Public Service Commission Dist. 4 seat in the wake of State Senator Joe McPherson’s decision to withdraw from the May 2 runoff for the post.

Holloway led McPherson, D-Woodworth, by about 650 votes in the primary.

McPherson said Monday that family and business considerations, along with a need to prepare for a legislative session that begins in two weeks, led to his decision to withdraw.

McPherson, in his constitutionally limited last term as senator, said he believes the upcoming session one of the most important in the state’s history and one that will require his full attention as a committee chairman.

Holloway will take the seat vacated when Dale Sittig of Eunice resigned to take a different state job.

His term will end in December 2010. This is his first elective office since serving as Congressman for the former 8th Congressional District.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us