Midland High School holds commencement exercise

MIDLAND - On Friday evening at 7 p.m. forty-eight young men and women received their high school diploma, tossed their caps high in the air and joined an honored group of Midland High School Alumni. May 21, 2010 marked not only the finale of a thirteen year journey, but the beginning of something great- a vast future full of possibilities.

Commencement guests and fellow graduates were welcomed by 2010 Senior Class President Sarah Broussard. She congratulated her classmates on reaching such a major milestone in their lives.

Speeches followed opening comment by Maria Broussard, Sarah Broussard, Taylor Kratzer, Bryce Leblanc, Allen Sistrunk, Samuel Stutes, and Blanch Ward.

Gifts were presented by Sarah Broussard, Courtney LeJeune and Blanche Ward to the senior class sponsors.

Midland High School Principal Mr. Clyde Briley presented the honor graduates which include Eric Allen Bergeron, Jr., Marie Angelle Broussard, Sarah Elizabeth Broussard, Melanie Joyce Cormier, Kaine Michael Gass, Tori Blaire Guillotte, Taylor Danyele Kratzer, Bryce Thomas Leblanc, Courtney Lane LeJeune, Lance Christian Richard, Allen Floyd Sistrunk, Jean Luke Smith, Samuel Joseph Stutes and Blanche Evette Ward. Principle Briley explained, “honor graduates are those that come to school and work day to day, week to week and year to year.”

Students achieving a 4.0 and the top honor of being chosen as their class’ valedictorians were Tori Guillotte, Maria Broussard, Sarah Broussard and Sam Stutes.

He further commented on how proud he felt about the dedication and hard work that the class of 2010 put toward their academic careers. He said, “people say kids have changed, and I agree kids are different, but I would still put this great group of young people up against anyone.”

Senior class sponsors, Mrs. Joan Broussard, Mrs. Chanda Johnson and Coach William Stanley along with Acadia School Board President Lynn Shamsie presented graduates with their diplomas.

Mr. Shamsie shook each graduate’s hand congratulating them on their achievement symbolically welcoming them into an honored group of high school graduates.

The 2010 graduating class of Midland High School is Eric Allen Bergeron Jr., Maria Angelle Broussard, Sarah Elizabeth Broussard, Cassie Lynn Comeaux, Brent Joseph Cormier, Christine Heidi Louise Cormier, Melanie Joyce Cormier, Jacob Paul Duhon, David Nelson Farris, Colby Allen Gantt, Kaine Michael Gass, Tori Nicole Girard, Caleb Jess Guidry, Tori Blaire Guillotte, Kyle Michael Henry, Bryan Edwin-Karl Hoffpauir, Haley Suzanne Johnson, Ethan Corey Kebodeaux, Brooke Noelle Klumpp, Taylor Danyele Kratzer, Bryce Thomas LeBlanc, Courtney Lane LeJeune, Emily Ann LeJeune, Roger Lee LeJeune, Angela D’Nais Leleux, Devan Ross Mouton, Cody Paul Myers, Gaston Paul Myers, Sandra Dawn Nedi Passofaro, Miles McKeithen Prejean, Christian Jeremy Premo, Carisa Louise Richard, Lance Christian Richard, Cheri Kay Schexnayder, Sidney Mathies Schexnayder, Travis Lee Schexnider, Rebecca Marie Simon, Samantha Jo Simon, Allen Floyd Sistrunk, Jean’ Luke Smith, Samuel Joseph Stutes, Aaron Jacob Thibodeaux, Madilyn Diane Thibodeaux, Tiffany Claire Thibodeaux, Dylan Allan Veronie, Michael Wayne Vincent, Blanche Evette Ward, Justin Wayne Welsh.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us