Mire Students Honored, Awarded

With the completion of the 2009-2010 school year, the following students at Mire Elementary School were honored during the annual end of the school year awards program held in the school gym as announced by principal Melanie Venable:

American Legion Awards: Best Handwriting - 1st graders Harli Richard, Holly Pellissier, Ashley Lesker, Payton Menard, Collin Linscombe, Kaleb Colomb; 2nd graders Sidney Baudoin, Camille McClelland, Madlyn Credeur, Harlan Ellinger, Nathan Ourso, Joshua McCrory; 3rd graders Taylor Meche, Abigail Easterling, Tara Roger, Alex Roy, Zachary Fontenot, Christian Clement; Veterans Day Essay - 4th graders Leah Hollier and Jordan McCrory; 5th graders Skyler Broussard and Donald Doucet; Academic/Americanism - 6th graders Hannah Barrow and Jacob Wade, 7th graders Whitney Fontenot and Troy Breaux, 8th graders Joey Richard and Sydney Fontenot; Purple and Gold - Jacie Fontenot, Hannah Sturgis, Kurt Falcon, Jacob Hebert, Sam Sturgis, Beau Daigle, Brennan Pepper, Karla Richard, Anne Mouton, Taylor Chapman, Allison Arceneaux; LEAP Test: 1st place Kristian Burrow, 2nd place Kameron Falcon, 3rd place Allison Arceneaux.

Athletic Academic Award: Michael Herpin and Sydney Fontenot.

Honor Roll Plaques: Skylar Broussard, Reid Dejean, Donald Doucet, Rossiland Short, Remington Winchester, Gavin Arceneaux, McKayla Ellinger, Hunter Meche, Dexter Miller, Zoe Petitjean, Skylar Primeaux, Madison Venable, Hannah Barron, Hannah Benoit, Angelle Burrow, Kylie Credeur, Morgan Credeur, Graham Leger, Claire Lyon, Zachary Miller, Jacob Wade, Taylor Castille, Madison Pryor, Elizabeth Sonnier, Andrew Arceneaux, Caroline Bergeron, Troy Breaux, Whitney Fontenot, Madison Lavergne, Bailey Leger, Kayla Marceaux, Katelyn Myers, Brennan Pepper, Ian Sturgis, Saxx Thibodeaux, Madison Vidal, Kristian Burrow, Zachery Toten, Brandi Alleman, Allison Arceneaux, Taylor Arceneaux, Baron Beard, Tori Carriere, Kameron Falcon, Sidney Fontenot, Michael Herpin, Mary Katherine Mire, Anne Mouton and Joey Richard.

President’s Education Award: 5th grader Skylar Broussard and 8th grader Donald Doucet.

Presidential Awards: Cailey Hoffpauir, Joey Richard, Anne Mouton, Kameron Falcon, Michael Herpin, Kaitlyn Carriere, Sidney Fontenot, Allison Arceneaux, Kristian Burrow, Taylor Arceneaux and Reese Benoit.

Advanced LEAP: 1st Kristian Burrow, 2nd Kameron Falcon, 3rd Allison Arceneaux.

Lenis Boullion Award: Macy Richard.

Pearl Cormier Award: Sydney Fontenot.

Woodmen of the World American History Award: Kameron Falcon.

Highest Academic: 1st grade - Avery Sturgis and Peyton Menard; 2nd grade - Leah Olivier, Nathan Ourso and Carson Tate; 3rd grade - Alex Roy, Taylor Meche and Tara Roger; 4th grade - Lindsey Batten, Trey Hollier and Kaitlyn Barron; 5th grade - Madison Venable, Reid Dejean and Hunter Meche; Dollison - Priscilla Bourque.

Outstanding Students: 5th grader Remington Winchester, 8th grader Sydney Fontenot.

Student of the Year: Sydney Fontenot.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us