Madison Elise Vidal crowned new Miss Rayne

NEW MISS RAYNE CROWNED - Madison Elise Vidal is crowned Miss Rayne 2014 by last year’s honoree, Kaitlyn Thibodeaux, during Saturday’s pageant held at the Rayne City Center by the City of Rayne. Additional pictures and story of the event can be found inside on page 7. (Acadian-Tribune Photo by Josie Henry)

NEW MISS RAYNE AND COURT - Members of the 2014 Miss Rayne court selected Saturday evening are, seated, Miss Rayne 2014 Madison Vidal; standing from left, 2nd Runner-Up Victoria Guidry (Courir de Mardi Gras Princess), 1st Runner-Up Courtlyn Robertson (Rice Festival Princess), 4th Runner-Up Chantel Delco and 3rd Runner-Up Meghan Guilbeaux (Church Point Buggy Festival Princess) (Acadian-Tribune Photo by Josie Henry)


By Lisa Soileaux


The Rayne Civic Center was transformed into an “Under the Sea” setting Saturday evening as the City of Rayne sponsored the 2014-2015 Miss Rayne Pageant. Crowned as the city’s new honoree was Madison Elise Vidal, 17-year-old daughter of Grady and Lance Arceneaux, was crowned the new honoree to represent the city for the coming year.

Madison received her crown from last year’s honoree, Kaitlyn Anne Thibodeaux, who has completed her year-long reign by representing the City of Rayne in a most regal manner.

A senior at Rayne High School, Madison keeps busy as a member of numerous school clubs and organizations. She was also named to the Grand Court Mardi Gras Ball as a maid, Louisiana Youth Seminar delegate, attended the Fun Camp as a counselor, and is presently serving as captain of the RHS cheerleading squad where she is already a two-time All-American Cheerleader.

Madison was also presented the People’s Choice Award during the pageant, awarded to the contestant as it is voted upon by the attending audience. She was presented the award by Taylor Hollier, Miss Rayne 2012.

Named 1st Runner-Up and Rice Festival Princess was Courtlyn Robertson, 16-year-old daughter of Phyllis Fruge and Cliff Robertson. She is a Rayne High junior where she is involved  in the school’s Student Council while attaining honor roll. She was presented her award by Dakota Henry, Miss Rayne 2009, and Rayne City Councilman Gerald Foreman.

Victoria Elizabeth Guidry was named 2nd Runner-Up and Princess to the Courir de Mardi Gras Festival. She is the 17-year-old daughter of Monica Bihm and the late Todd Guidry. The Rayne High senior is a member of the Rayne High Dance Team, wrestling team, Student Leadership Club, and has been involved in various city projects and events. She was presented her awards by Taylor Hollier, Miss Rayne 2012, and Rayne Councilwoman Ann Washington.

Victoria was also awarded the banner and silver tray as she was named Miss Congeniality, a prestigious honor voted upon by the contestants prior to  the pageant. Making the presentation was Dakota Henry, Miss Rayne 2009.

Named 3rd Runner-Up and Princess to the Church Point Buggy Festival was Meghan Paige Guilbeaux, 19-year-old daughter of Dale and Christine Guilbeaux. The Rayne High graduate is a sophomore majoring in psychology at South Louisiana Community College while employed by Project Dance where she was an active 10-year member. She was awarded by Taylor Hollier, Miss Rayne 2012, and Rayne Councilman Calise “Mike” Doucet.

Chantel D’Nay Delco, 18-year-old daughter of  Chanara Delco and Leonce Duhon Jr., was named 4th Runner-Up to Miss Rayne. She is a high school senior and is presently serving as the 2014 Ebonite Civic and Social Club’s Queen. She was presented her award by Miss Rayne Committee Member Suzette Leonards.

Serving as emcees for the event were and Al and Burgundy Olivier, the reigning Golden Frog Festival royalty.

Judges were Melissa Plattsmier, Marian Broussard and Effie Lantier.

Committee members were Suzette Leonards, Angie Broussard, Josie Henry, Taylor Hollier, Kelsey Primeaux, Paulette Primeaux, Paula Hollier, Dakota Henry, Claire Trahan Meche, Ellen Guidry, and Nikki Link who provided the choreography for the dance number.

In addition to the numerous special guests in attendance were a number of past Miss Rayne title holders, including Claire Trahan Meche (1998), Tessa Richard Dischler (1999), Dakota Henry (2009), Kelsey Primeaux (2010) and Taylor Hollier (2012).

Special thanks were expressed to the following for another successsful Miss Rayne Pageant: DJ Phil Peltier, Nikki Link of Project Dance, City of Rayne for sponsoring the competition, the Rayne Acadian-Tribune for coverage and announcements, the Rayne Lions Club who manned the concessions for the evening, and door attendees Fran Bihm and Karen and Blaine Dupont.


Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us