4-H banquet recognizes outstanding members, volunteers and more

Not only recognized for her 40 years of service to the Acadia Parish 4-H program, but also announced as the 2014 4-H Hall of Fame inductee was Judia LaCombe, center. Presenting her the honor were 4-H agents Kayla Segura, left, and Megan Sarver, right.

Left: Dennis Leonards was presented a certificate for his 36 years of service to the Acadia Parish 4-H program at the Acadia Parish 4-H Outstanding Members Banquet last week. Right: For 43 years of service to the Acadia Parish 4-H program, Johnny Hains, left, and Beverly Hains, right, were presented certificates last week at the Acadia Parish 4-H Outstanding Members Banquet.

Dana Leger, center, was recognized at last week’s Acadia Parish Outstanding 4-H Members Banquet as the 2014 Outstanding Volunteer. Kayla Segura, left, and Megan Sarver, right, 4-H agents, presented Leger with her award.

From left, Zachary Wright (Scott Truck and Tractor, $200; Louisiana 4-H Foundation Parish, $100), Brooklyn Regan (Scott Truck and Tractor, $500; Daniel Fontenot Jr. 4-H, $300) and Michaela McBride (Scott Truck and Tractor $700; McCory Family 4-H, $600) were presented scholarships at last week’s Acadia Parish 4-H Outstanding Members Banquet. Also awarded a scholarship, but not pictured, was Cade Smith (Scott Truck and Tractor, $100). Regan was also presented the award for 2014 Outstanding Junior Leader.

Judia Lacombe announced as 2014 Hall of Fame inductee

Photographs and information provided by the Acadia Parish 4-H program.

Last week, outstanding 4-H members from across the parish were recognized as scholarships were awarded and volunteers were honored at the Acadia Parish 4-H Outstanding Members Banquet.

Recognized as outstanding members, by club, were: Ben Prejean, Shayla Johnson, Brett Bellard and Lane Richard, Branch Elementary; Jackson Horaist, Simone Breaux, Halli Ray and Taizha Jones, Church Point Elementary; Jackson Hetzler, Crowley High; Erin Hetzler, Crowley Middle; Lani Hanks, Claire Morgan, Lilli Morgan, Sadie Zaunbrecher and Gage Leonards, Egan Elementary; Gracie Greene, Harley LeBlanc, Gage Monceaux and Allen Bertrand, Estherwood Elementary; Madyson Guillory, Samantha LeJeune, Emma Grace Ingram and Vivian Daigle, Iota Elementary; Destiny Sam, Macey Vidrine, Michaela McBride, Hillary Cart, Bailey Story, Brittany Roy, Wyatt Kennedy, Brcye Istre, Brooklyn Regan, Nicole Floyd and Lauren Daigle, Iota High; Isaac Ingram, Caroline Frey, Hayden McBride, Gavin Vidrine, Hans Zaunbrecher, Luke Toepfer, Olivia Gotte, Brianna Frey, Lindsey Bogard, Hillary Olivier, Conner Story and Madison Sittig, Iota Middle; Courtney Garbert, Lucky Clovers (home-school); Megan Breaux and Jordan Broussard, Mermentau Elementary; Brailie Cormier and Layton Meaux, Midland High; Leah Guardia Doraine Witherwax, Gracie Bergeron, Taylor Meche, Gavin Berard and Kameron Broussard, Mire Elementary; Bailey Borill, Morse Elementary; Grant Russell and Matthew Richard, Northside Christian; Zachary Wright, Tabitha Leonards, Payton Zaunbrecher and Victoria Gaudin, Notre Dame; Sydney Speyrer and Lindsey Lyons, Our Mother of Peace; Andrew Habetz, Bobbie Guidry, Trey Hains and Analei Jennings, Rayne Catholic; Julia Raspberry, addie Foster, Amanda Cormier, Taylor Broussard, Natalie Domingue, Eulalie Cormier, Meredith Raspberry and Patrick Cormier, Redemptorist Catholic; Austin Arnaud, Johnathon Godeaux and Courtey Guidry, Richard Elementary; Diego Desoto, Haleigh Doucet and Ashley Miller, St. Francis; and Dustin Zaunbrecher, Cameron Russell and Cole Zaunbrecher, St. Michael.

Students recognitions continued into the recipients of scholarships and senior honor cords. Honor cord recipients were: Dustin Breaux, Hillary Cart, Destiny Sam, Zachary Wright, Allison Briscoe, Blaire Lantier, Brooklyn Regan, Michael McBride, Layton Meaux and Spencer LeJeune. Cade Smith was the recipient of a $100 Scott Truck and Tractor scholarship; Zachary Wright was the recipient of a $200 Scott Truck and Tractor scholarship and a $100 Louisiana 4-H Foundation Parish scholarship; Brooklyn Regan was the recipient of a $500 Scott Truck and Tractor scholarship and a 300 Daniel Fontenot Jr. 4-H scholarship; and Michaela McBride was the recipient of a $700 Scott Truck and Tractor and a $600 McCory Family 4-H scholarship.

Brooklyn Regan was also recognized as the 2014 Outstanding Junior Leader.

Awards were also handed out to various volunteers to the Acadia Parish 4-H program, including the naming of the 2014 Outstanding Volunteer, Dana Leger. Other volunteers recognized with awards were Jason Corder, Sherrill Garber, Rhoda Dugan, Debra Cormier, Wendi Morgan, Bradley Hanks, Blake Cormier, Hannah Cormier and Jean-Marie Leger, one year of service; Laurie Zaunbrecher, Andre Hoffpauir, Mike McBride, Tracy Hanks, Nicole Broussard, Lauralie Mackey, Adrienne Smith, Justin Sarver, Robert Wright, Emily Brown and Annie Carlson, two years of service; Angel Leonards, Sherry Terro, Mendi Thibodeaux and Katie Jennings, three years of service; Melvin Leger, Dana Leger, Gena Daigle, Bernadette Cormier, Teresa Wright, Tomeka Vincent, Asa Vincent and Jude Sittig, four years of service; Quentin Zaunbrecher, Roxanne Zaunbrecher, Belinda Savoie, Larry LeJeune and Joey Savoie, five years of service; Chad LeJeune and Christine Bellard, eight years of service; Johnny Hains Jr. and Ann Hains, 10 years of service; Stephanie McBride, 12 years of service; Wanda LaCombe, 15 years of service; Sylvia Doucet, 16 years of service; Annette Vincent, 17 years of service; Dennis Leonards, 36 years of service; Judia LaCombe, 40 years of service; and Johnny Hains and Beverly Hains, 43 years of service.

(For photos of outstanding members and volunteers, please visit http://www.acadiaparishtoday.com/2014-acadia-parish-4-h-outstanding-members-and-volunteer-awards.)

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us