Notre Dame High School graduates 111 Friday

Receiving Notre Dame’s highest honor, the Catholic Action Award, this year were, from left, Amy Boudreaux and Brent Didier, They were presented the award by, from left, Msgr. Jeff DeBlanc and the Rev. Matthew Higginbotham.

Louisette Broussard, right, was named the 2014 inductee into the Notre Dame High School of Acadia Parish Shoe of Fame. Presenting her the honor was Principal Cindy Istre.

Jeannine LeJeune is the online editor for the Crowley Post-Signal. She can be reached at or 337-783-3450.

With numerous family and friends in attendance, 111 young men and women became the newest graduates of Notre Dame High School of Acadia Parish Friday morning.

The graduates began their honored day with a 9 a.m. Baccalaureate Mass in Our Lady of the Sacred Heart Catholic Church in Church Point were the school’s chancellor, the Rev. Matthew Higginbotham, was the main celebrant. Concelebrating were Msgr. Jeff DeBlanc, vicar for the West Region of the Diocese of Lafayette and pastor of Our Lady of the Sacred Heart in Church Point; the Rev. Kendall Faulk, pastor of St. Joseph in Rayne; and the Rev. Gary Schexnayder, former NDHS chancellor and current pastor of St. Elizabeth Seton Church. Serving as deacon for the mass was  Deacon Dennis LaCroix of St. Joseph in Rayne.

Immediately following the mass, a special tribute was made to Louisette Nugent Broussard, the 2014 inductee int the Notre Dame High School Shoe of Fame.

Broussard is married to Paul G. Broussard of Rayne and are the parents of Kristen (class of 1990), Craig (class of 1992) and Kyle (class of 1999) and grandparents of Emma and Ella Menard.

Broussard was a student during Notre Dame’s inaugural years and her participation in numerous extracurricular activities helped to establish many of the long-standing clubs and activities that were not only enjoyed by Broussard’s children but today’s students as well.

After graduating the school in 1969, she became an active alumna and eventually joined the Notre Dame staff to begin a career of sharing her passion for Notre Dame as its development director. It is a position she has retained for 24 years.

“As she embarks on a well-deserved retirement, we are challenged to honor Louisette’s legacy to her alma mater by keeping the Pioneer spirit alive,” said Principal Cindy Istre. “Notre Dame graduates, as you begin a new chapter in your lives, hold that pride close to your hearts and keep the embers of loyalty burning brightly as you are encouraged to ‘walk in the shoes’ of the 2014 Shoe of Fame Recipient, Louisette Broussard.”

During the graduation ceremony that followed mass, several students were recognized before final words of wisdom were hear from the class of 2014’s summa cum laude graduate via the valedictory address.

Stephen Stefanski, representing the American Legion Post 15, presented the post’s award to Winston Faulk and Emma Lavergne.

The Catholic Action Awards, Notre Dame’s most prestigious awards were presented to the outstanding boy and girl displaying qualities of leadership, service to community and church and Christian attitude toward all they meet. The recipients, voted on by their classmates were Brent Didier, son of Leo and Claire Didier of Roberts Cove, and Amy Boudreaux, daughter of James and Kathryn Boudreaux of Church Point.

Finally, Kaitlin Miller delivered the valedictory address where Miller was emotional while delivering a heartfelt speech that reflected on the bittersweet feelings that graduation has brought to the class.

“Becoming a Pioneer has undoubtedly had an effect on us these past four years,” she said.

“Our love for Notre Dame will never leave us.”

The highlight of the morning, was the confernment of diplomas by Fr. Matthew Higginbotham to the graduates of Notre Dame High School of Acadia Parish’s Class of 2014. They are Conner Gerard Arceneaux, Taylor Leigh Bares, Caroline Elizabeth Bellard, Conner Aaron Benoit, Rankin Mark Bihm, Ashley Antoinette Borde, Megan Elizabeth Borne, Sydney Clair Borne, Amy Kathryn Boudreaux, Gavin Cole Bourgeois, Bryce Cory Brandon, Wyatt Daniel Faul Breaux, Megan Claire Broussard, Claire Lucille Brown, Jacob Allen Bruno, Jennifer Marion Burleigh, Mary Elizabeth Clark, Trent Joseph Connolly, Micaela Leigh Cotton, Sophia Clair Cramer, Kodie Marie Credeur, Allison Claire Daigle, Jeff Michael Daigle, Taylor Beth Daigle, Leah Grace Dailey, Jeremiah Jude Danna, Brent Joseph Didier, Jake Reece Doguet Doucet, Macyn Jade Douget, Delainie Elise Dunagan, Kathryn Shea Duncan, Lance Michael Edwards, Jacob Paul Faulk, Michael Joseph Faulk, Winston Michael Faulk, Christopher John Fleming, Rachel Marie Fogleman, Estelle Gesina Fontenot, John Thomas Frank, Kevin Frem Frank, Jr., William Riley Frank, Matthew Klein Gates, Cameron Jude Gibson, Rustin Abney Gilder, II, Mollie Kate Gossen, Matthew Glenn Guidry, Seth Michael Guillory, Kyler Paul Habetz, Michelle Dawn Hanks, Taylor Raychel Haure, Christian Shawn Hayes, Sydney Rae Hebert, Zachary Heath Henry, Michael Anthony Herpin, Christian Joseph Hundley, James Patrick Hundley, Jr., Katie Marie Istre, Stephen Todd Kojis, Jr., Alyson Margaret Kratzer, James William Kratzer, Jaclyn Kate Andree’ Lalande, Caleb Hensgens Lambousy, Christian Joseph Landry, Andrew John Latiolais, Lane Michael Latiolais, Emma Margaret Lavergne, Mira Jean LaVergne, Zoie Jane LaVergne, Carter Laiq’ Ledbetter, Elizabeth Kathryn Leger, Jane Margaret Leonards, Michelle Elizabeth Leonards, Samantha Elise Lyons, Lindsey Marie Meyer, Alexandra Leigh Miller, Andre’ Guilbeau Miller, III, Kaitlin Angelle Miller, D’Montre D’Juan Milstead, Collin Stephen Moncla, Jacob Daniel Mooney, Tina Thuy Nguyen, Garrett Paul Ortego, Kyrick Hill Pannell, Guy Charles Perrodin, II, Mallory Anne Perry, Nicholas Curtiss Petitjean, II, Hans Joseph Prevost, Caitlyn Morgan Privat, Caroline Val Robertson, Logan John Roche, Gabrielle Claire Romero, Nicole Morgan Romero, Alexander Joseph Rozas, Laura Marie Schmid, Sarah Elizabeth Simar, Kade Ardon Smith, Shannon Michelle Spallino, Hunter Timothy Stelly, Mollie Aline Stelly, Alyssa Irene Thevis, Aislinn Jade Thibodeaux, Wyatt Troy Thibodeaux, Morgan Anthony Thomas, Sarah Nicole Treadway, Samuel Ryder Veillon, Bryant James Venable, Tori Elizabeth Vidrine, John Edward Wagar, III, Allie Paige Wimberley, Zachary Taylor Wright and Royce Dennis Zaunbrecher.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us