Notre Dame's Broussard, Credeur earn top billing on 4-3A All-District squad

CROWLEY –  To the victor go the spoils.

And in prep football in 2012, there was no better example of that than the Notre Dame Pioneers who once again dominated post-season honors in District 4-3A.

The Pios, who made it all the way to the Class AAA finals and rolled through league play undefeated after outscoring opponents, 149-33, grabbed the lion's share of the honros on the 4-3A All-District team released recently with a whopping 17 slots.

The Acadia-Parish powerhouse grabbed 11 spots on the first team and six on the second. In addition, they nailed down the top three spots: Coach of the Year Lewis Cook, Offensive MVP Luke Broussard and Defensive MVP Kipp Credeur.

Cook guided the Pios to an unbeaten district record of 5-0 and his Pios earned the No. 2 seed in the Class 3A playoffs after dropping just one game during the regular season.

The Pios began its trek to the Dome with a 38-26 victory over Patterson and followed that up with a second-round victory over defending Class 3A champion St. Charles (27-7). The Pios then polished off Iowa, 35-0, and eliminated East Feliciana, 16-14 in the semifinals to earn their spot in the title game, where they fell to Parkview Baptist.

Cook has now guided Notre Dame to 11 semifinal appearances and the Pios have played in seven state title games, winning two, since 2000.

Broussard led the Pios' potent ground attack by rushing for 1,115 yards and 11 touchdowns during the regular season. He also had eight receptions for 89 yards.

Joining Broussard on the first-team offense are teammates Luke Habetz at tight end (2 recpetions for 23 yards), Andrew Valdetero and Nick Casanova on the offensive line and Dustin Reiners at place kicker (1 field goal, 34 PATs).

Crowley nabbed two spots on offense in wideout Chanz Moore and athlete Andre Mills.

Moore hauled in 50 passes for 599 yards and 10 touchdowns while Mills, Crowley High’s quarterback, completed 93 of his 181 pass attempts for 1,129 yards and 11 touchdowns. He also picked up 674 yards and four touchdowns on 137 carries.

Westlake’s Jacory Washington is the other receiver on the team with 35 catches for 476 yards and seven touchdowns.

Joining Valdetero and Casanova on the offensive line are Jennings Keijan Levi, Iowa’s T.J. January and Westlake’s Dane Suire.

Iowa’s Austin Theriot made the first unit at quarterback after throwing for 831 yards and 10 touchdowns and running for 664 yards and 10 more scores.

Westlake’s Latrell Martin (1,132 yards, 14 touchdowns) and Iowa’s Chaz Key (908 yards, 10 touchdowns) join Broussard in the offensive backfield.

Credeur led the Pios defensive unit that landed four spots on the first team.

He  logged 81 tackles (49 solo, 32 assists) from his linebacker position and also had five sacks and 11 tackles for a loss.

Chad Gibson (49 tackles, 7 sacks, 10 TFL) and Sammy Graf (25 tackles, 9 sacks) are joined on the defensive line by Westlake’s Devin Pharis (52 tackles) and Iowa’s Logan Sutin (44.5 tackles).

Joining Credeur at linebacker are Iowa’s Devon Thomas (82.5 tackles), Jennings’ Keaton Bertrand (81 tackles) and Westlake’s Wyatt Stevens (91 tackles).

Defensive backs on the first team include Notre Dame’s Gavin Bourgeois (45 tackles, 9 pass breakups and 5 interceptions) and Clint Faul (41 tackles, 10 pass breakups and 3 interceptions), Jennings’ Keagan Deville (38 tackles, 8 interceptions) and Iowa’s Jarel Picquet (82.5 tackles, 4 interceptions).

Reiners also made the team as the punter with a 41.7 yard average while Jennings’ Maliek Williams made it as the kick returner.

Notre Dame’s Patrick Hundley and Wyatt Breaux were tabbed to the second-team offensive line. Brad Stoma grabbed a spot at quarterback while Austin Thibodeaux made it at running back.

Crowley’s lone second-team selection on offense is running back Danny Malbreaux.

Notre Dame’s Hunter Stelly and Matt Venable made the second-team defensive unit at linebacker as did Crowley High’s Jesse Harmon.

Crowley’s JaJaun Delco also made the team as a defensive lineman and Damon Malbrough made it at defensive back.

Honorable mentions include Notre Dame’s Nick Benoit, Brandon Leger, Christian Hundley, John Michael Besse, Cline Reiners and Hogan Guidry as well as Crowley High’s Thomas Cavell, Curtis Braxton, David Tautkus and Joseph Tautkus.

Also making the list at honorable mention are Westlake’s Anthony Cole; South Beauregard’s Dylan Hinton, Matt Trahan, Colton Fowler and Kelly Courville; Jennings’ Chris Broussard, Jaylon Boutte, Brandon Hays and Garrett Petry and Iowa’s Joey Romero, Tanner Buller, Tremel Alfred, Craig Guillory and Jamarcus Anderson.




WRChanz MooreCrowley5-11175Sr

WRJacory WashingtonWestlake6-5220Jr

TELuke HabetzNotre Dame6-2215Sr

OLKeijan LeviJennings6-0260Sr

OLAndrew ValdeteroNotre Dame6-1205Sr

OLNick CasanovaNotre Dame6-1250Sr

OLDane SuireWestlake6-1310Sr

OLT.J. JanuaryIowa6-5260Jr

QBAustin TheriotIowa5-8185Sr

RBLatrell MartinWestlake5-9185Sr

RBChaz KeyIowa5-9160Soph

RBLuke BroussardNotre Dame5-6160Sr

PKDustin ReinersNotre Dame5-8190Soph

ATHAndre MillsCrowley5-10160Sr


DLDevin PharisWestlake6-1215Sr

DLLogan AutinIowa5-10240Sr

DLChad GibsonNotre Dame5-8195Sr

DLSammy GrafNotre Dame6-0220Sr

LBDevon ThomasIowa6-0175Sr

LBKeaton BertrandJennings5-9210Sr

LBKipp CradeurNotre Dame5-10190Sr

LBWyatt StevensWestlake5-8185Sr

DBJarel PicquetIowa5-10160Soph

DBGavin BourgeoisNotre Dame6-0185Jr.

DBClint FaulNotre Dame6-2165Sr

PDustin ReinersNotre Dame5-8190Soph

KRMaliek WilliamsJennings6-3185Jr

Offensive MVP: Luke Broussard, Notre Dame

Defensive MVP: Kipp Credeur, Notre Dame

Coach of the Year: Lewis Cook, Notre Dame



WRDeauain MatthewsIowa6-0170Sr

WRTyler JohnsonWestlake6-3190Jr

TECurtis BellJennings6-1220Soph

OLAndrew LambJennings5-5220Sr

OLPartick HundleyNotre Dame6-2245Jr

OLWyatt BreauxNotre Dame6-5225Jr

OLCody CormierS. Beauregard5-10240Sr

OLCody MillerWestlake6-0215Sr

OLDavid KershawIowa5-10260Sr

QBBrad StomaNotre Dame5-8150Soph

RBDanny MalbreauxCrowley5-10165Sr

RBJordan MalbreauxIowa5-8160Sr

RBJarquise BrownJennings5-4125Sr

RBAustin ThibodeauxNotre Dame6-2225Sr

PKSeth CoxJennings5-7160Frsoh

ATHJaylon BoutteJennings6-0170Sr


DLPayton PhelpsJennings6-2220Sr

DLDylan SpikesWestlake5-10300Jr

DLJaJuan DelcoCrowley5-10245Soph

DLPepper BourqueIowa5-10280Jr

DLRoss EdwardsJennings5-10230Sr

LBJesse HarmonCrowley6-2210Sr

LBBryce NavarreS. Beauregard5-7175Jr

LBHunter StellyNotre Dame5-10195Jr

LBMatt VenableNotre Dame5-9185Sr

DBCraig GuilloryIowa5-8160Sr

DBBrance Bacca-WhiteJennings6-1190Jr

DBNick LefrereWestlake6-0185Jr

DBNick LatourWestlake5-9160Sr

DBDamon MalbreauxCrowley5-11165Sr

DBT.J. DavisJennings6-0160Sr

PAustin TheriotIowa5-8185Sr

KRHandon EtienneWestlake5-6135Sr

HONORABLE MENTION: Westlake - Anthony Cole; South Beauregard - Dylan Hinton, Matt Trahan, Colton Fowler, Kelly Courville; Jennings - Chris Broussard, Jaylon Boutte, Brandon Hays, Garrett Petry; Crowley - Thomas Cavell, Curtis Braxton, David Tautkus, Joseph Tautkus; Notre Dame - Nick Benoit, Brandon Leger, Christian Hundley, John Michael Besse, Clint Reiners, Hogan Guidry; Iowa - Joey Romero, Tanner Buller, Tremel Alfred, Craig Guillory, Jamarcus Anderson.


Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us