Notre Dame's Robichaux, Bougeois headline 4-3A All-District baseball squad

CROWLEY – The Notre Dame Pioneers had their  share of ups and downs  in the 2013 prep baseball season.

But once they hit their stride, it was smooth sailing, especially when it came to District 4-3A play.

The Pios scored 58 runs and only gave up 28 in 10 district games to sweep through the league undefeated and claim yet another championship.

Their dominance didn’t go unnoticed when the league’s coaches released their 4-3A All-District selections recently.

Notre Dame dominated the league team by garnering five first-team and three second-team selections. They also nabbed the top two honors in Coach of the Year Timmy Robichaux and Most Valuable Player Gavin Bourgeois.

Robichaux, in his sixth and final year as head coach of the Pios, guided his team to an overall record of 20-13 and a No. 3 seed in the Class 3A playoffs.

The Pios defeated Port Barre, 10-0, in their playoff opener and then cruised to a 17-4 road victory over Berwick in the regional round. The Pios’ state title hopes came to an end the following week when they were upended by No. 11 seed Brusly, 4-1, in the quarterfinals.

Bourgeois played a major role in the Pios’ success. Despite missing a third of the season recovering from a foot injury suffered in the 2013 state championship football game, the junior led the team offensively by hitting for a .474 clip with four doubles and 16 RBI out of the leadoff spot. He did so in just 24 games.

Bourgeois was also a force on the mound once he was healthy. He posted a 5-1 record on the year and had one save while pitching 40 2/3 innings. His earned run average was 1.72.

Joining Bourgeois on the first unit were teammates Alex Holston, Dillan Gilbert, Hogan Guidry and Brennan Corzine.

Holston also missed part of the season due to an injury but proved to be a dominant force on the mound when he was at full strength. He picked up four saves before earning a starting spot in the rotation where he posted a record of 4-1. The senior toed the rubber for 30 1/3 innings and had an ERA of 2.10.

Gilbert earned a utility spot after logging stints as a designated hitter, a pitcher, a third baseman and outfielder. The junior hit .439 on the season and had a team-leading 30 RBI. He also had three triples and two doubles.

On the mound, Gilbert  was 2-0 with a 2.10 ERA in 20 innings.

Guidry made the squad at second base after hitting .320 with three doubles and 12 RBI. He was also 13-for-14 in stolen bases.

Corzine was tabbed as the first-team catcher after hitting .279 with seven doubles and seven RBI.

Crowley’s lone selection to the first-team was junior utility player Mackay Mouton. He paced the Gents offensively with an average of .371 and he also had 13 RBI.

Iowa’s Gabe Roberts, Jennings’ Evan Guillory and South Beauregard’s Nathan Lee each made the team as pitchers along with Holston.

Iowa shortstop Justin DeMary and third baseman Austin Theriot round out the first-team infield. The outfield consists of Jennings’ Keagan Deaville and Landon Solori and South Beauregard’s Josh Hunt.

Earning utility spots along with Gilbert and Mouton were South Beauregard’s Nick Lee and Austin LeBleu and Jennings’ Kaleb Chaisson.

Notre Dame’s Royce Zaunbrecher was named to the second team at pitcher while Alex Rozas made it at third base and Brad Stoma got on as a utility player.

Crowley nailed down three spots on the second team in pitcher Pate Broussard, outfielder Luke Ancelet and utility player Alex Ashby.

Earning honorable mention status are Notre Dame’s Joe Faulk, Sam Veillon and Clint Faul as well as Crowley High’s Ben Broussard, Jon Riley Mouton, Mickey Morgan and Alex LeBouef.


First Team

PGabe RobertsIowaSr.4-3

PEvan GuilloryJenningsJr.2-2

PAlex HolstonNotre DameSr.4-1

PNathan LeeSouth BeauregardSr.3-1

CBrennan CorzineNotre DameSr. .279

1BGavin BourgeoisNotre DameJr..485

2BHogan GuidryNotre DameSr..320

3BAustin TheriotIowaSr..305

SSJustin DeMaryIowaSr..469

OFKeagan DeavilleJenningsSr..480

OFJosh HuntSouth BeauregardJr..423

OFLandon SaloriJenningsSr..344

UTMackay MoutonCrowleyJr..371

UTNick LeeSouth BeauregardSo..245

UTKaleb ChaissonJenningsSo..447

UTDillan GilbertNotre DameSo..443

UTAustin LeBleuSouth BeauregardSr..481

Most Valuable Player: Gavin Bourgeois, Notre Dame

Coach of the Year: Timmy Robichaux, Notre Dame

Second Team

PRoyce ZaunbrecherNotre DameJr.3-0

PPate BroussardCrowleyFr.3-6

PTim HamiltonWestlakeJr.4-6

PBryce FontenotJenningsSo.1-0

CAndrew SelfIowaSr..200

1BGarrett DartezIowaSr..323

2BBrad WhittingtonIowaJr..300

3BAlex RozasNotre DameJr..310

SSCade HenryJenningsJr..433

OFWyatt StevensWestlakeSr..357

OFPryce FontenotSouth BeauregardSr..370

OFLuke AnceletCrowleyJr..320

UTMatt TrahanSouth BeauregardSr..420

UTDevon PharrisWestlakeSr..319

UTBrad StomaNotre DameSo..290

UTZack BradySouth BeauregardSr..250

UTAlex AshbyCrowleyFr..281

Honorable Mentions: Iowa’s Tanner Buller; Westlake’s Cody Miller, Chris Fontenot, David Victay; South Beauregard’s Hunner Monceaux; Crowley’s Mickey Morgan, Jon Riley Mouton, Ben Broussard, Alex LeBouef; Notre Dame’s Sam Veillon, Joe Faulk, Clint Faul; Jennings’ Joey Scogin, Andrew Bougard, Brett Fontenot.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us