Notre Dame's Theriot tabbed as 5-AAA Coach of the Year

CROWLEY – The Notre Dame Lady Pioneers recently wrapped up a record-breaking season in basketball, winning a remarkable 29 games en route to just the third state semifinal appearance in the school’s history.

The Lady Pios also went 9-1 in District 5-AAA play, averaging 54.7 points giving up just 31 points.

For their efforts, the Lady Pios landed four players on the All-District team that was recently announced by the league’s coaches.

Nolan Theriot earned Coach of the Year honors while Taylor Simon was a unanimous first-team selection.

Simon, a senior guard, averaged 13.1 points, 5.4 rebounds, 3.1 steals and 6.7 assists per game.

Simon is joined on the first unit by 5-AAA MVP Tina Roy of Kaplan, Naosha Leopaul of Rayne and Rechelle Bessard and Jasmine Dozier of Abbeville,

Notre Dame’s Kylie Pannell and Alex Miller were selected to the second team along with North Vermilion’s Kate Faulk and Chelsie Sonnier as well as Abbeville’s Wayna Briggs. Pannell averaged 12.3 points, 8.9 rebounds, 3.1 steals and 3.3 assists while Miller logged 9.8 points, 7.8 rebounds, 2.1 steals and 1.7 assists per game.

Mallory Chiasson was named to the All-Defensive team along with Abbeville’s Ashantae Thibodeaux, Rayne’s Oneisha Jolivette, North Vermilion’s Lashae Reaux, Kaplan’s Shayna Lasalle and Erath’s Lauren Heenan.

Honorable mentions include Rayne’s Jamie Price and Brandy Gibson; North Vermilion’s Kylie Fabre, Precious Lollis and Stephanie Picard; Abbeville’s Dyantae Perkins and Hailey Landry and Erath’s Hailey Landry.

On the boys’ team, Abbeville earned the top two honors after advancing all the way to the Class AAA finals where they lost to Carroll.

Abbeville’s Berwick Hamilton was tabbed the league’s Coach of the Year while Tiremone Williams earned MVP honors.

Williams is joined on the first unit by teammates J.J. Davenport and Dajuan Smith as well as Rayne’s Ryan Larry and North Vermilion’s Ben James.

Notre Dame earned two second-team selections in Kane Thibodeaux and B.J. Vidrine. Rayne’s Darius Bonnom was also named to the second team along with Erath’s Jeremy Pillette and Kaplan’s O’Ryan Rudd.

All Defensive team members include Notre Dame’s Stu Cook, Rayne’s Hunter Prejean, Kaplan’s Jalen Baker, Abbeville’s Denzel Scott, Erath’s Mikey Seymoour and North Vermilion’s Joe Del Duhon.

Notre Dame’s Jeremy Smith and Ricky Stoma were named to the honorable mention list along with Abbeville’s Delontra Fields, North Vermilion’s Jeremy James and Brandon Campbell, Rayne’s Freddie Broussard, Dannie Harmon, Brock Nolan and Michael Henry and Kaplan’s Tre Choate.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us