A & O 21st Century Club presents ‘Midnight Masquerade’

By: Lisa Soileaux
The A & O 21st Century Club, Inc. staged its 15th Annual Beautillion on Saturday, Nov. 26, 2011, at the Rayne Civic Center.

During the evening’s festivities, the 2010 honoree, Freddie Broussard, Jr., crowned his successor, King De André Broussard, son of Stafford Guidry and Andrea Broussard. His escort for the special event was Miajah Henson.

Named First Runner-Up was Jalen Williams, son of Dwayne Williams and Joanette Wilridge. His escort was Courtlyn Evans.

Named “Mr. Debonair” was Tyler Bonnet, son of yronne Bonnet and Delores Bonnet. His escort was Robin Charles.

Beaus, along with their escorts were:

Tyler Bonnet, son of Tyronne Bonnet and Delores Bonnet, escorted by Robin Charles;

DeAndré Broussard, son of Stafford Guidry and Andrea Broussard, escorted by Maijah Henson;

Victor Fields-Meaux, son of George and Connie Fields-Meaux, escorted by Acrisha Rochon;

Dannie Harmon, son of Dannie Harmon, Sr. and the late Cheryl Harmon, escorted by Jasmine Mouton;

Michael Henry, son of Michael Henry and Annie Harmon, escorted by Quindolyn Rochester;

Wilbert Leopaul, son of Wilbert and Alzena Leopaul, escorted by Lauren Francis;

Michael Papillion, son of Mike Papillion and Katie Jolivette, escorted by Tanner Wilson;

Devion Thomas, son of Paul Thomas, Sr. and Natalie Montgomery, escorted by Khaja Charles;

Jalen Williams, son of Dwayne Williams and Joanette Wilridge, escorted by Courtlyn Evans.

As an added addition recently knowledged during the Beautillion, the Ronald Duplichain Community Award was presented to an outstanding individual who contributes towards the good of the city. The 2011 honoree honored during the evening’s festivities was Ronda Trahan, who has contributed towards the reconstruction of homes and lives disrupted by the tornado that struck Rayne last March. Her award was presented by this year’s ball chairman Brian Mouton.

Honorees and guests were welcomed by Tim Mayfield, who delivered the welcome address, followed by the invocation by Deacon Nolton Senegal.

Serving as mistresses of ceremonies were Sadie Wheeler and Cutina Jolivette, who were introduced by Brian Mouton, ball chairman.

A minuet choreographed by the Sisters of A & O, presented the Beaus, along with last year’s king who delivered his farewell. The toast to the royalty was led by Hilda Wiltz.

The presentation was completed with the Grand Waltz participated by the Beaus and their mothers.

The evening was completed with dancing as music was provided by Chazem Entertainment.

A & O Club officers are president Brian Mouton, 1st vice presdient Jessie White, 2nd vice presdient William Board, secretary Wallace Young, treasurer Felton Charles, assistant treasurer Phil Woods, Sgt.-at-arms Melvin Lawrence, reporter Edward Senegal, and chaplain Alexander Guidry.

Club members are Lester Washington, Reggie Mouton, Chris Duhon, Ezzie Charles, Joe Toby Thevis, Justin Jolivette, Raymond McDowell, Eric Jolivette, James Joseph Richard, Tim Mayfield, Jeremy Thomas, Cleveland Guidry and Jeremy Figaro.

Special thanks to the Sisters of A & O, Louis Handy, Hilda Wiltz, Nolton Senegal, Mayor Jim Petitjean, Donovan Harmon, Northside Step Team, and Chazem Entertainment.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us