Pink Ladies celebrate 50 years of dedicated service to ALH

In May of 1959, a small group of women, many doctors’ wives, began the Pink Lady Auxiliary at the American Legion Hospital.

On May 7, 2009 the Pink Ladies met the Town Club for a general meeting and luncheon to celebrated their 50th year anniversary.

In attendance were 55 Pink Ladies, honored guests, as well as Charter Member Willa Mae Daily. Yvonne Menard welcomed new member Leora Amy.

Mrs. Yvonne Menard called the meeting to order and called on Elaine Robison to lead the Pink Ladies in the auxiliary pledge, prayer and Pledge of Allegiance. Sylvia Dischler read the minutes from the April brunch and Georgie Petitjean read the treasury report.

Receiving a standing ovation was Georgie Petitjean, a past president having served four terms, who is presently the Pink Lady Board treasurer and is currently as active volunteer with the Pink Ladies and a charter member.

Terry Osborne gave the welcoming address thanking the Pink Ladies for their dedication and services to the hospital. Osborne is currently CEO for the hospital.

Other honored visitors from the staff at the hospital were Rebecca Duplechain, Connie Sittig, Charmaine Vidrine, Ceil Zaunbrecher, lifetime member; and Andy Barousse, board member for the hospital.

Ethel Thibodeaux awarded service pins to 18 ladies. Sixty-two members worked a total of 8775 hours in the past year. The Pink Ladies receiving service pins were, 100 hours- Thelma Istre, Priss Popp, Lena Richard and Emily Robison; 500 hours- Barbara Simon; 1000 hours- Loretta Broussard and Esther Henderson; 1500 hours- Frankie Johnson, Eula Meaux and Louise Morrow; 2000 hours- Audrey Leger and Rose Trouille; 2500 hours- Lou Matte; 3000 hours- Rose Thibodeaux; 3500 hours- Gena Wagner; 4000 hours- Georgie Petitjean; 5500 hours- Neline Bernard; and awarded for 10,500 hours- was Nettie Romero.

Helen Zaunbrecher installed the new board members for 2009-2010. They are, Mary Briley, president, Mona Ward, first vice-president; Gayle Godeaux, second vice-president; Lerdie Godeaux, third vice-president; Sylvia Dischler, secretary; and Georgie Petitjean, treasurer.

Also installed as board of directors were, one year members, Frankie Johnson and Helen Zaunbrecher, and two year members Thelma Istre, Elaine Robison, Barbara Simon, Yvonne Menard, parliamentarian; and Nettie Romero, as the Gift Shop chairman.

Mina Ford was recognized for 2160 hours of service and her 90th birthday.

The Blessing before the meal was led by Jean Oubre. Everyone enjoyed a delicious meal.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us