Pios Dominate All-District Selections

By Chris Quebedeaux

LSN Sports


CROWLEY – Winning district championships is nothing new at Notre Dame High School.

The Pios have won the last four titles in District 5-AAA, including the 2010 championship when they swept though league play once again.

For their efforts, the Pios claimed 12 spots on the 5-AAA All-District first team that was recently released by the league’s coaches.

The Pios also nailed down two of the top three honors in Offensive Most Valuable Player Stu Cook and Defensive MVP John Rothermel. The Coach of the Year award went to Kaplan’s Stephen Lotief.

Cook, who started out the year at quarterback before moving to tailback, was a guiding force in leading the Pios to a perfect 10-0 regular season as well as a semifinal berth in the Class AAA playoffs. He finished the season with 616 rushing yards and 12 touchdowns on 92 carries and also hauled in 14 passes for 252 yards and three touchdowns.

Rothermel was the leader on defense, logging 109 solo tackles and 55 assists from his linebacker position. He also had seven tackles for a loss, two sacks, two forced fumbles, one fumble recovery and two interceptions.

Cook is joined on the first team offensive unit by teammates Wayon Young at quarterback, Zac D’Aquin at wide receiver and Logan Venable at running back.

Young, who replaced Cook at quarterback in the third game of the season, completed 54 of his 98 pass attempts for 961 yards and 10 touchdowns. The junior signal caller also rushed 11 times for 13 yards.

Young’s main target was D’Aquin, who finished his senior campaign as the Pios’ leading receiver with 20 receptions for 489 yards and four touchdowns.

Venable was the Pios’ leading rusher, gaining 617 yards and 10 touchdowns on 106 carries.

Notre Dame’s Jacob Melancon, Pete Petitjean and Brannon Trahan each made the first team on the offensive line. They are joined by Abbeville’s J.J. Davenport and Kaplan’s Carl Chargois. Abbeville’s Akeem Lewis is the tight end.

Also earning first team honors on at running back are Kaplan’s Jalen Baker (169-1,475) and Rayne’s Brody Bourque (193-1,045 and 12 TD).

Erath’s Josh Pillette is the other receiver.

Joining Rothermel on the defensive side of the ball are teammates Jerry Menard on the defensive line, Will Fruge at linebacker and Ricky Stoma at defensive back.

Menard anchored the line with 58 solo tackles and 24 assists. He also had 11 tackles for a loss, three sacks, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries.

Fruge had 48 solo tackles, one forced fumble, one fumble recovery and an interception while Stoma had 48 solos, 19 assists and five interceptions.

The rest of the defensive team includes Abbeville’s Alonzo Williams, Rayne’s Andrew Abshire and Kaplan’s Brock McDaniel on the defensive line and North Vermilion’s Zach Bourque at linebacker. Other defensive backs include Kaplan’s Josh Green, North Vermilion’s Jabian Kern and Rayne’s Shelby Thibodeaux.

The kicker on the first team is Abbeville’s Garrett Lege and the punter is Kaplan’s Colin Gaspard.

Notre Dame’s Luke Bourgeois was tabbed as the unit’s return specialist. He returned 11 punts for an average of 12.3 yards and three kickoffs for an average of 30 yards.

Bourgeois also made the second team at defensive back after recording 54 solo tackles, 20 assists, one forced fumble, one fumble recovery and one interception.

Other Pioneers named to the offensive second team include linemen Cole Reiners and D.J. Cormier and running back Luke Besse.

Rayne’s Danny Harmon made the second unit at tight end.

Defensively, the Pios landed six on the second team. Dylan Daigle and Kevin Johnston made the unit at defensive line while Connor Goss got on at linebacker. Bourgeois, D.J. Petitjean and Austin Bordelon each made it at defensive back.

The punter on the second team is Notre Dame’s Tyler Melancon and the kicker is Kaplan’s Kameron Abshire.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us