Police Jury gets strict on road workers

The Vermilion Parish Police Jury just got stricter on its road crew.

The Police Jury voted 8 to 6 not to allow workers on the road crew, including the foreman, to go home for lunch. The jury said the workers on the road crew have to bring their own lunch.

The reason for the new rule was because one police juror got complaints from a member of the road crew that a worker who is driving a police jury truck drives home for lunch and then drives back. Someone was taking longer than 30 minutes, according to the complaint.

In order to fix the problem, juror Mark Poche wanted to stop anyone on the road crew from going home or picking up lunch.

“The problem is that people are going home for lunch and staying there,” Poche said. “I had two calls about it. I make a motion that the road crew is not allowed to go home for lunch.”

Chris Theriot, the secretary for the police jury, suggested each work crew member sign out and in on a sheet for lunch instead of preventing them from leaving. That fell on deaf ears.

Police juror of District 14, Leon Broussard, wanted to know who will enforce the rule.

“Who will ride around the parish to check on this?” Broussard said. “Let’s just let them do what they are doing. Why are we getting into this? They are all working. They are not leaving the work site to go eat at Suire’s. Common sense, people. Common sense.”

Theriot said the only way to enforce it is, if taxpayers see members of the work crew eating at their home instead of along side of the road, to call the police jury office and inform someone.

Police Juror Ron Darby wanted to know if it was OK for a road crew member to leave the work site to go to the bathroom?

“We are talking about breaks as well as lunch,” Darby said. “We have to be careful how we do this.”

Darby also wanted to know if the road crew is working across the street from one of their homes, can they go to lunch? The answer is no.

The Police Jury passed the new rule 8 to 6. It went into effect on Tuesday.

Voting for it were: Dane Hebert (District 1), Chris Beraud (District 2), Nathan Granger (District 3), Mark Poche (District 6), Keith Meaux (District 7), Errol Domingues (District 8), Pervis Gaspard (District 11), and T.J. Prejean (District 13) .

Voting against it were: Ronald Darby (District 4), Wayne Touchet (District 5), Gerald Butaud (District 9), Ronald Menard (District 10), Cloris Boudreaux (District 12) and Leon Broussard (District 14).

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us