Prudhomme wins MVP, three more named to All-District Team


Sun Times Editor

Normally, there’s lots of discussion and debate as to who is the best basketball player from a particular district.

But not this season!

Yes, Lake Arthur High School Tiger senior forward Durrell Prudhomme left little doubt as to who was the Most Valuable Player in District 5-2A this year, as the versatile, high-scoring forward brought home top honors for his sterling play this season.

The six-foot three sharpshooter averaged over 23 points per game for Coach Roderick Williams’ co-championship team, pulling down over 10 rebounds a contest and attaining close to five steals per outing. The four-year-starter was a threat both inside the paint and beyond the three-point line for Lake Arthur, giving fits to any opposing coach who had the formidable task of devising a defensive plan to stop him.

Prudhomme was not the only threat in Williams’ arsenal, as junior guard Darius Mitchell was also named to the prestigious First Team. The five-foot nine wing man pumped in close to 20 markers per outing, and also averaged three rebounds and four assists per contest. Mitchell was always a threat from three-point land, helping to stretch the opposing team’s defense and open up the middle for teammates’ easy baskets.

Tiger junior Nick Klein was a Second Team selection, as he combined fine outside shooting (almost double figures in scoring), with five rebounds and three assists per contest. Klein was especially proficient from behind the three point line, knocking down key bombs when opposing defenses chose to clog the paint.

Named as an Honorable Mention All-District performer was senior Brad Armentor, a four year letterman who played guard, point guard, and forward over his career in Tigertown. Armentor was especially effective on the defensive side of the court, using his quickness, speed, and athleticism to hound opponents on the full court press and make key steals that resulted in key transition baskets for the Tigers.

Also named to the First Team was Doc Roberts, a sophomore from Vinton; Dustin Wilridge, a junior guard from Welsh; and Dreylin Bias, another junior from Welsh.

Second Team selections included, Justin Tunwar, a freshman from Kinder; Tyler Lloyd, a sophomore from Vinton; Jaylin Sams, a junior from Welsh; and Akeem Jackson, another junior from Welsh.

Other Honorable Mention performers named were Jared Broussard and Casey Trahan of Welsh; Jarrod Anderson of Vinton; and Kade Van Norman, Tavin Botley, and Damien Williams of Kinder.

Coach of the Year was Wilbert Gilbeaux of from the co-champion Welsh High School Greyhounds.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us