RHS Class of ‘57 Holds Reunion

The Rayne High School Class of 1957 celebrated its 52-year reunion on Saturday, Oct. 24, 2009, at Chef Roy’s Frog City Café in Rayne.

Class officers are Lois Fontenot Petitjean, president; Wayne Wyatt, vice-president; Barbara Lyons Breaux, secretary; Louis Thibodeaux, treasurer; Carl Morgan, parliamentarian; and Geraldine Revette Gary, reporter.

The planning committee included Dolores Trahan Deville, Douglas Bordelon, Helena Bernard Bertrand, Nell Comeaux Hardy, Carol Menard, Donald Domingue, Wayne Wyatt and Henry Melancon.

The class motto was, “Today We Follow, Tomorrow We Lead.” The class colors were red and white, with red gladiolus as the class flower.

Attending were Dolores and Don Deville, Audrey and Bob LaFosse, Mary and Leroy Abshire, Gloria and Vin Guidry, Kermit and Peggy Cormier, Ethel and Raymond Menard, Louis and Kathy Mier, Donnie and Bea DeRouen, Donald “Rod” and Barbara Mier, Joyce Arceneaux, Dorothy and Jeff Choate, Wayne and Gloria Wyatt, Helena Bertrand, Judith deValcourt, Lily Morrow, Henry Lee and Sheree Melancon, Donald L. and Bulsy Mire, Elda and Daniel Huval, E.J. and Laura Melancon, Nell Hardy, Lois Petitjean, Jesse and Janelle Comeaux, Carol and Helen Menard, Sherman and Gerry Trahan, Douglas and Jackie Bordelon, and Donald and Diana Domingue.

Deceased classmates remembered were Etrelle Arceneaux Vincent, Willodean Boudreaux Wilson, Nabbie Cahanin, Connie Devillier Butaud, Daniel Faulk, Earl Matte, Barbara Meche Colley, Murphy Moore, Patrick Prejean, Alice Richard, Irving Richard, Harry Thibodeaux and Betty Trahan Pourceaux.

Deceased class sponsors were Coach Lucien Hebert, Olive Hartwell, Melba Johnson and Louis Girouard.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us