Rice Festival Rice and Creole Cookery Contest

The Rice and Creole Cookery Contest, an outstanding feature of the International Rice Festival, will be held Friday, October 17, 2008, at the Acadia Parish LSU AgCenter, 157 Cherokee Drive in Crowley. Rice dishes and recipes must be brought in between 8 and 9 a.m. Judging will begin at 9:30 a.m.

The “food safety rule” will again be in effect this year. All dishes entered must be thoroughly cooked and chilled when brought to the contest for judging. Failure to meet this standard will result in the dish being disqualified. Exception includes items that would not normally need refrigeration such as cookies and cakes.

Contest divisions are: Adult, Teen, Intermediate, and Children’s, with categories in Rice and Meat, Rice and Seafood, Rice Salad/Vegetable, and Rice Desserts. Prize money and ribbons will be given to the top ten winners in each category.

The Chef de Riz, or Master Rice Cook will be selected by a group of judges. Winners will be chosen on the basis of the dish score and interview on knowledge of uses of rice and rice cookery. The winner will be awarded a $50 premium as well as an engraved plaque. This contest is sponsored by the USA Rice Federation.

Judges for the contest will be Chatonia Chatman, Isabella DeLaHoussaye, Shannon Dietz, Jeff Dobrozsi, Paul Fontenot, Debra Harrington, Greg Jones, Bradley Leger, Nikki LeMaire, LaVonya Malveaux, Mary Melancon, Charlene Melancon, Mallory Miller, Jack Montoucet, Ellen Murphy, Helen Page, James Parker, Robert and Michelle Puissegur, Heli Roy, Xueyan Sha, Larry & Esther Trahan, Maxine Trahan, John & Melise Trahan, Herry Utomo, and Ida Wenefrida.

Those volunteers assisting with the festival contest are: Claire Boudreaux, Liz Coolman, Austina Coolman, Heather Fontenot, Diana Francis, Gloria Gaspard, Christana Goff, Martha Grantham, Ruth Ann Klumpp, Helen LeBlanc, Audrey Leger, Wilma LeJeune, Barbara LeJeune, Mary Ann Leonards, Wahneta Mier, Hannah Miller, Bonnie Miller, Audrey Miller, Betty Miller, Katy Mouton, Meagan Murrell, Amy Pastor, Alice Pastor, Mary Ann Sagrera, Ella Thevis, Rosie Trahan, and Letha Vincent.

Acadia Parish LSU AgCenter office personnel coordinating this activity are Adrianne Vidrine and Paula Stewart.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us