Robichaux, Osborne headline All-Louisiana team

LAFAYETTE – Louisiana ace pitcher Zach Osborne and head coach Tony Robichaux received top honors on the 2010 Louisiana Sports Writers Association All-Louisiana College Baseball team, announced Saturday by the association.

Osborne pitched his way to top billing in the Sun Belt Conference and on the national level. He led all Sun Belt starting pitchers and all State of Louisiana starting pitchers with a 9-4 mark and 2.37 ERA and ranked Top 50 nationally in earned run average, strikeouts, victories, hits allowed and walks allowed per nine innings.

Robichaux guided the Ragin' Cajuns to one of the most remarkable second half runs in recent memory as they finished the 2010 regular season with a 23-4 mark in the final 27 games, including 17-1 in Sun Belt Conference games. He led Louisiana to its 13th season of .500 or better and eighth NCAA Regionals appearance in his 16th season as skipper.

Both were rewarded by the LSWA with Osborne being selected 2010 Louisiana Pitcher of the Year and Robichaux being named 2010 Louisiana Coach of the Year.

Osborne's selection marks the third time in the past five seasons a Cajuns pitcher earned top billing in the state. Hunter Moody earned the award in 2006 and Danny Farquhar in 2007.

Robichaux collects his fifth honor from the association. He was also named Louisiana Coach of the Year in 1997, 1999, 2000 and 2007.

Osborne was named to the 2010 All-Louisiana First Team. Joining him in earning All-Louisiana honors were teammates Jordan Poirrier (second team) and Chad Keefer (honorable mention).

This season's selections inreases the total number of All-Louisiana picks under Tony Robichaux to 54. The Cajuns had a pitcher named All-Louisiana for the seventh straight season and Poirrier and Keefer were the first Cajuns position players named to the team since 2007.

Poirrier led Louisiana in extra base hits with 36 amd nearly half of hits went for extra bases (74 total). The Reserve native finished with a team-high .622 slugging percentage and led the Cajuns in runs (50), doubles (18), triples (6), total bases (140) and was second in home runs (12), RBI (56).

Keefer caught all 60 games for the Cajuns and led the Sun Belt with 20 runners caught stealing. He ended the season as UL's leader in hits (76), home runs (15) and RBI (58). He posted a team-best 10 home runs and 35 RBI in Cajuns' strong second half run. The Sasakwa, Okla., native produced a 22-game hitting streak March 6-April 9, coming within one game of the school record.

Tulane third baseman Rob Segedin was named Louisiana's Hitter of the Year while teammate Blake Crohan picked up Freshman of the Year honors and Northwestern State's Oscar Garcia for Newcomer of the Year. Southeastern Louisiana head coach Jay Artigues joined Robichaux to share Coach of the Year honors.

2010 All-Louisiana Baseball


P - Zach Osborne, Louisiana

P - Luke Irvine, Northwestern State

P - Nick Pepitone, Tulane

P - Boone Whiting, Centenary

C - Micah Gibbs, LSU

1B - Blake Dean, LSU

2B - Nick Schwaner, UNO

3B - Rob Segedin, Tulane

SS - Jace Peterson, McNeese State

OF - Devon Dageford, Louisiana Tech

OF - Eric DeBlanc, Northwestern State

OF - Mikie Mahtook, LSU

DH - Matt Gaudet, LSU

UTL - Blake Crohan, Tulane

HITTER OF THE YEAR: Rob Segedin, Tulane

PITCHER OF THE YEAR: Zach Osborne, Louisiana-Lafayette

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Oscar Garcia, Northwestern State

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Blake Crohan, Tulane

CO-COACH OF THE YEAR: Jay Artigues, Southeastern Louisiana; Tony Robichaux, Louisiana-Lafayette


P - John James, LSU-Shreveport

P - Justin Ennis, LSU-Shreveport

P - Chris Franklin, Southeastern Louisiana

P - Chad Sheppard, Northwestern State

C - Andrew Brouillette, LSU-Shreveport

1B - Kevin Smith, LSU-Shreveport

2B - Jordan Poirrier, Louisiana

3B - Mark Threlkeld, Louisiana Tech

SS - Justin Boudreaux, Southeastern Louisiana

OF - Oscar Garcia, Northwestern State

OF - Cody Laprarie, Louisiana College

OF - Cliff Shepard, Centenary

DH - Joe Sparacino, Southeastern Louisiana

UTL - Judd Edwards, ULM

HONORABLE MENTION: P - Clint Dempster, Nicholls; P - Paul Bertuccini, LSU; P - Jaden Dillon, McNeese; P - Jordan Hymel, SLU; P - Austin Ross, LSU; C - Chad Keefer, Louisiana; 1B - Frazer Hall, Southern; 2B - Joey Ford, LTU; 3B - Chase Lyles, NSU; SS - Austin Nola, LSU; DH - Will Alvis, LTU; UTL - Brody Bourque, Nicholls and Jeff Ericson, Centenary; OF - Cody Laprarie, La. College; OF - Leon Landry, LSU; OF - Brett Comer, Nicholls.

Read more: Acadia Parish Today - Robichaux Osborne headline All Louisiana squad

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us