School Board honors Students of the Year

The Tangipahoa Parish School Board held their regular meeting on Tuesday, February 17, 2009.

2009 Little Miss Tangipahoa Parish Fair Queen Rayanne Ridghel led the Pledge of Allegiance. She is eight years old and attends Holy Ghost School in Hammond and is the daughter of Roxanne and Tim Ridgel.

"I've been competing in pageants since I was 17-months-old. The titles I've held are : 2002 Baby Miss Italian Festival, 2004 4 - 5 year old Petite Miss Strawberry Festival, 2006 - 2007 Petite Miss Ilatian Festival, 2007, 6 - 8 year old Little Miss Strawberry Festival, and my current title 2009 Little Miss Tangipahoa Fair Queen," said Rayanne Ridgel when she introduced herself to the crowd.

At this meeting, the Tangipahoa School Board recognized High School Students of the Year. Jan McGovern, a senior at Loranger High School, is the High School Student of the Year. Michael Felder, a Ponchatoula high School senior, is the first runner up. Hannah Saragusa, a Hammond High School senior, is the second runner up.

Middle School Student of the Year is Katherine Sharp, an 8th grade SLU Lab student. Top Middle School Student first runnerup is Brittany Dykees, Nesom Middle School student, and second runnerup is Dayja Richardson of West Side Middle School, and third runnerup is Jazmine Mannino of Independence Middle School.

Elementary School Student of the Year is Griffen Guzan, a fifth grader at SLU Lab School. Top Elementary Student first runnerup is Brittany Smith, fifth grader at Independence Middle School and second runnerup is Skylar McDaniel, a fifth grader at Chesbrough Elementary School.

Superintendent Mark Kolwe recognized the Students of the Year throughout the parish. Each student received a plaque recognizing his or her achievement. Sharp and Guzan will advance to the next regional competition in this statewide Louisiana Student of the Year contest sponsored by the Louisiana state Department of Education.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us