Shake up at Acadia Parish Police Jury as Terry Lacombe voted out; replaced by Richard 'Dickie' Latiolais

By: Paul Kedinger
CROWLEY - In a stunning change of command, new members of the Acadia Parish Police Jury engineered a major shift in the parish’s governing body Monday afternoon.

After repeating their oaths before Clerk of Court Robbie Barousse, jurors then moved to elect a president, vice president and secretary-treasurer, normally perfunctory motions without much suspense.

As rumored, A.J. “Fatty” Brassard was elected president. Newly elected District 3 Juror Julie Borill was elected vice president. Both votes were unanimous.

The next vote, however, was anything but expected,

Julie Borill nominated Richard “Dickie” Latiolais to replace Terry Lacombe as secretary-treasurer. Her motion was seconded by newly seated District 7 Juror David Savoy of Church Point.

Jurors A.J. “Jay” Credeur, who minutes earlier had given up his role as president, made a motion to keep Lacombe, That motion was seconded by Dale Trahan of District 4.

When President Broussard called for a voice vote, only Credeur and Trahan voted to continue Lacombe’s employment.

Broussard then called for a roll call vote to ensure the motion.

That’s when Juror Alton Stevenson said he didn’t want to cast a vote, arguing the secretary-treasurer’s position “should not be brought up tonight.”

Saying it was “a bunch of bull,” Stevenson said he understood three applications had been submitted for the jury’s top appointive position. “We should discuss this before we got here.” he argued. Stevenson then said, “I won’t vote tonight for anyone.” He also asked for an opportunity to talk with Latialois, who was in the audience.

A very stunned Lacombe spoke up about his background and remarked since he was appointed in 2008, the Jury has had more money while expenses declined.

“I’ve done nothing to be voted out,” he said in an elevated voice. “I don’t understand.”

At that point, Gibson Miller, a member of the audience, stepped forward, remarking the community was “not quite satisfied with how things have gone,” offering the election of five new jurors as evidence that “change has been called for.”

Pointing out that a earlier voice vote appointed Latiolais, Miller called for the roll call vote to be completed.

When Stevenson cited his “privilege to vote,” Latiolais was invited to speak about his personal and professional background.

Noting he earned both his bachelor and master’s degrees at USL, he described his work experience in banking, including his last position with Farmers State Bank’s branch in Rayne.

After hearing Latiolais’ speak, Stevenson said he would cast his vote for Latiolais.

The roll call finished 6-2, with Credeur and Trahan casting the only no votes.

Jurors closed the organizational meeting by agreeing to hold the regular January Police Jury meeting on Wednesday, Jan. 18, at 10 a.m.

The jurors and their guests then moved to a courtroom where group and individual pictures were taken by the news media and cake and punch were served.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us