Shamsie elected Acadia School Board president

By Shantelle Breaux


CROWLEY – The Acadia Parish School Board began Monday evening’s meeting with the election of a new president and vice president to the board.

Lynn Shamsie, who represents District 3, was nominated by Gene Daigle to replace outgoing president Roland Boudreaux, and was unanimously voted in.

Gene Daigle was nominated for another term as vice president of the board by John Suire, and was also unanimously approved.

Daigle represents District 6.

In other business, the board approved a motion to advertise for the position of principal at Morse Elementary School. The three year contract of current principal Linda Wilkerson is up, and the board must advertise the position. However, according to the board, Wilkerson will be reapplying for the position.

The board approved performance contracts for personnel including Bobby Hamlin, principal of Rayne High; Ida Yeager, principal of Crowley Kindergarten; Lee Ward Bellard, principal of Church Point High; Gibson Miller, principal of Iota High; Steve Duplechain, principal of Crowley High; Sondra Myers, director of Head Start; Marshall Thibodeaux, principal of Armstrong Middle School; Kimberly Cummins, principal of Martin Petitjean Elementary; Steven Jones, supervisor of maintenance/warehouse; Margaret Jones, executive director of curriculum and instruction; and Ruth Miller, supervisor of child nutrition.

The board approved the appointment of Dr. Pat Douglas to the previously unfilled position of Special Populations Transitions Facilitator. She will be responsible for making sure special education students exiting the school system have a smooth transition and are able to take advantage of the various programs and opportunities available to them. She will also be responsible for the curriculum of elementary and middle school special education students.

The board also approved the advertisement of land, Section 16, southeast of Eunice for hunting lease. The land is not suited for farming. It is a natural woodland, with timber interests on it.

The board required a roll call vote on a request from a teacher at South Crowley Elementary, Darla Thibodeaux, to waive the return to work requirement after her sabbatical leave. The board was entertaining a motion in her favor when Roland Boudreaux made a counter motion denying her request for the waiver.

Boudreaux stated as his reason a problem with teachers taking sabbatical leaves and then not coming back to the system.

The vote on the motion was 4-3, with newly appointed President of the Board Shamsie dealing the tiebreaker vote against granting Thibodeaux the waiver.

The date of the next meeting of the Acadia Parish School Board is February 2.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us