2013 All-Acadia Parish Football Team

Local standouts earn spots on parish team

CROWLEY – The 2013 prep football season turned out to be a memorable one for a number of Acadia Parish football teams.

Of the parish’s five teams, four advanced to the state playoffs and three of them reached at least the second round before being eliminated.

Two of the most surprising efforts were turned in by the Crowley High Gents and Church Point Bears.

The Gents had a remarkable run in 2013, going 8-4 one year after posting just two victories.

And they did so after moving up in classification from 3A to 4A, where they earned a No. 15 seeding  in the state playoffs. The Gents defeated Peabody in their first home playoff game since 2006, but were eliminated a week later by eventual state runnerup Edna Karr.

Church Point, meanwhile, earned the No. 9 seed in the Class 3A playoffs after going 7-3 and claiming district runnerup honors in District 4-4A.

The Bears knocked off McMain in the first round of the playoffs and then used a last-second field goal to upend Donaldsonville a week later. Their season ended a week later when they were upended in the quarterfinals by eventual state runnersup Livonia.

It was Church Point’s first every quarterfinal appearance.

For their efforts, Crowley’s Josh Fontenot and Church Point’s John Craig Arceneaux were named as the Crowley Post-Signal’s All-Acadia Parish Co-Coaches of the Year.

Also earning top honors on the squad were Rayne’s Trent Duhon (Offensive MVP) and Notre Dame’s Hunter Stelly (Defensive MVP).

Duhon led the parish in rushing after racking up 1,389 yards and 21 touchdowns on 183 carries. He also had eight receptions for 118 yards and two touchdowns.

Stelly compiled 90 tackles during the regular season in helping lead the Pios to the No. 3 seed in the Division III playoffs. He had 55 solo tackles, six for losses, and 35 assists to go along with one sack, two forced fumbles and two pass breakups.

Heading up the first-team offense along with Duhon  is Crowley High quarterback Pate Broussard. The sophomore signal caller had a breakout year in his first season by completing 122 passes for 1,758 yards and 20 touchdowns. He also picked up another 63 yards and two touchdowns on 50 rushes.

The Gents also nailed down two of the three receiver slots in wideouts Terrell Thomas and Thomas Cavell. 

Thomas led the parish in receiving with 27 catches for 558 yards and six touchdowns while Cavell had 14 receptions for 208 yards and two touchdowns before going down with an injury.

The third receiver is Kevin Frank of Notre Dame. Frank had 21 receptions for 324 yards and three touchdowns.

Crowley’s Jerry Dregin is the tight end after catching 28 passes for 321 yards and five touchdowns.

Joining Duhon in the offensive backfield are Crowley’s Ty’Von Griffin, Notre Dame’s John Michael Besse, Church Point’s Deion Monroe and Iota’s Adam Ardoin.

Griffin posted 1,093 yards and 14 touchdowns on 203 carries while Besse had 135 touches for 936 yards and 13 touchdowns. Ardoin racked up 848 yard and three touchdowns on 181 carries and Monroe had 777 yards and 11 touchdowns on 143 carries.

The team’s offensive line consists of Notre Dame’s Patrick and Christian Hundley, Church Point’s Kane Briscoe and Brock Buller, Rayne’s Matt Dore and Brennan Bourque and Crowley High’s Marshal Wilbert.

Notre Dame’s Brad Stoma earned a spot at the athlete position. The junior quarterback completed 80 passes for 1,137 yards and 14 touchdowns and also rushed 81 times for 398 yards and 11 scores.

Notre Dame’s Dustin Reiners and Rayne’s Ty Delahoussaye tied for the place kicker spot.

Stelly is joined by six other Pios on the defensive side of the ball.

Nate Link and Connor Kirsch made the team on the defensive line while Kade Smith  nabbed a linebacker slot. Gavin Bourgeois and Rankin Bihm both grabbed spots at defensive back.

Crowley’s JeJuan Delco and Kaj LeMaire made it on the defensive line as did Rayne’s Desmond Cole.

Iota’s Nick Sloane and Church Point’s Tedrick Citizen round out the spots at linebacker.

Church Point grabbed two more spots in the secondary - Brett Richard and Frederick Williams - and Trae Lavergne made the squad at punter.

Notre Dame’s Sam Vellion also made the team at defensive back while Crowley High’s Bryston Domino was named the squad’s return specialist.

Honorable mention spots were garnered by Crowley High’s Chris Lewis, Christian Breaux and Curtis Broxton, Notre Dame’s Conner Benoit, Wyatt Breaux and Joe Faulk, Chruch Point’s Kian Richard, James Bellard and Layne Matte, Rayne’s Grant Abshire and Hunter Adkins and Iota’s Hayden Meyer, Timmy Lunson and Dustin Breaux.



Pos. Name School Ht. Wt. Cl

WR Terrell Thomas Crowley 6-1 170 So.

WR Thomas Cavell Crowley 6-1 180 Sr.

WR Kevin Frank Notre Dame 5-11 160 Sr.

TE Jerry Dregin Crowley 6-2 190 Sr.

OL Matt Dore Rayne 6-2 300 Sr.

OL Brennan Bourque Rayne 5-10 290 Sr.

OL Patrick Hundley Notre Dame 6-3 260 Sr.

OL Kane Brisco Church Point 6-4 270 Sr.

OL Christian Hundley Notre Dame 6-2 260 Sr.

OL Marshal Wilbert Crowley 6-3 330 Jr.

OL Brock Buller Church Point 5-11 190 Sr.

QB Pate Broussard Crowley 5-7 140 So.

RB Trent Duhon Rayne 5-11 185 Sr.

RB John Michael Besse Notre Dame 5-11 170 Sr.

RB Ty’Von Griffin Crowley 5-11 190 So.

RB Deion Monroe Church Point 5-8 150 Sr.

RB Adam Ardoin Iota 5-11 205 Jr.

PK Ty Delahoussaye Rayne 5-8 175 Jr

PK Dustin Reiners Notre Dame 5-9 205 Jr.

ATH Brad Stoma Notre Dame 5-9 150 Jr.


DL Jacob Fontenot Church Point 5-5 225 Jr.

DL Nate Link Notre Dame 6-2 225 Jr.

DL Connor Kirsch Notre Dame 6-0 215 Jr.

DL JeJuan Delco Crowley 5-11 230 Sr.

DL Desmond Cole Rayne 6-0 300 Jr.

DL Kaj LeMaire Crowley 6-3 310 Sr.

LB Tedrick Citizen Church Point 6-0 215 Sr.

LB Kade Smith Notre Dame 5-6 145 Sr.

LB Nick Sloane Iota 5-10 200 Sr.

LB Hunter Stelly Notre Dame 5-11 205 Sr.

DB Brett Richard Church Point 5-8 175 Sr.

DB Gavin Bourgeois Notre Dame 6-0 185 Sr.

DB Fredrick Williams Church Point 5-9 165 So.

DB Sam Vellion Notre Dame 6-0 200 Sr.

DB Rankin Bihm Notre Dame 5-9 160 Sr.

P Trae Lavergne Church Point 6-1 195 Jr.

RS Bryston Domino Crowley 6-0 160 Sr.

Offensive MVP

Trent Duhon, Rayne

Defensive MVP

Hunter Stelly, Notre Dame

Co-Coach of the Year

Josh Fontenot, Crowley

John Craig Arceneaux, Church Point

HONORABLE MENTION: Crowley - Chris Lewis, Christian Breaux, Curtis Broxton; Notre Dame - Connor Benoit, Wyatt Breaux, Joe Faulk; Church Point - Kian Richard, James Bellard, Layne Matte; Rayne - Grant Abshire, Hunter Adkins: Iota - Hayden Meyer, Timmy Lunson, Dustin Breaux.


Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us