Leonards earns MVP honors in District 4-3A

Iota's Abigail Leonards was recently named the 4-3A All-District Co-MVP along with St. Louis' Shannon Dalton.

IOTA – Abigail Leonards, whose efforts on the mound helped Iota’s Lady Bulldogs to a 22-4 regular-season record and a No. 6 seed in the Class 3A state playoffs, was selected as the Co-MVP in District 4-3A for 2014.
Leonards was most effective in league play. The Spring Hill College signee gave up just 15 earned runs in 10 district games while logging 75 strikeouts in 67 innings.
She also hit .257 during league play and collected three doubles and 13 RBI while striking out just three times.
The Lady Dogs, under guidance of first-year head coach Leah Andrus, went 8-2 in league play. They then knocked off district foe Westlake, 15-4, in the opening round of the playoffs before falling to eventual state runnerup Jena in the second round.
Leonards shared MVP honors with St. Louis’ Shannon Dalton. Dalton, a junior, logged a .720 earned run average while leading the Lady Saints to a perfect 10-0 mark in district play.
Besides Leonards, the Lady Dogs had four other players on the 4-3A All-District team: Sarah Johnson, McKenzie Armand, Sydney Hebert and Cameron Crochet.
Johnson was tabbed as the team’s first baseman after hitting .466 with four doubles, one home run and 11 RBI.
Armand, a junior shortstop, led the team in nearly every offensive category. She hit .548 with seven doubles, three triples, four home runs and 22 RBI in the 10-game district slate. She also had an on base percentage of .681 while being walked nine times and striking out just once.
Hebert, a junior, was one of the best outfielder’s in the district. At the plate, she logged two doubles and drove in six runs.
Crochet made the team as a utility player after hitting .355 with eight RBI.
Also joining Leonards and Dalton in the circle  were Westlake’s Baleigh Derouen and South Beauregard’s Heather Simmons.
St. Louis nailed down five more spots in catcher Morgan Rosteet, third baseman Elise Ange, outfielder Maggie O’Dowd and utility players Ellen Briley and Mary Guillory.
South Beauregard’s Alyssa Dickey made the squad at first base while Allie Parker got on in the outfield and Julia Courville made it at utility. Jennings’ Kylie Hanks also got on at utility.
Iota’s Katelyn Stephens and Heather Gardner were tabbed to the second-team while Lauren Miller and Rhianna Stephens made the honorable mention list.
4-3A Baseball
South Beauregard captured the top two honors on the 4-3A All-District baseball team that was recently released by the league’s coaches.
Jeremy DeVille nailed down the Coach of the Year honor while Nick Lee was named the league’s Most Valuable Player after the Knights won the district title with a 9-1 record.
South Beauregard’s Haydin Gunter, Josh Hunt, Brandon Hare and Chance Clark were also named to the first-team.
Iowa earned four first-team selections in Dayton Laborde, Trentyn Richard, Taylor Faulk and Brad Whittington while Jennings’ Evan Guillory, Cade Henry and Cody Buquet also earned spots.
Also making the first unit were St. Louis’ Dylan Greenman and Jack Boyer and Westlake’s Cameron Lafleur, Ryan Buller and Tim Hamilton.
Iota’s Kyle Smith earned second-team honors as a utility player. The junior hit .476 for the Bulldogs with 11 doubles and six RBI. He also had a 3.5 ERA on the mound where he struck out 22 in 30 innings.
Iota’s J.T. LeJeune and Kevin Pousson were named to the honorable mention list.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us