St. Michael High School’s graduating classes of 1940 thru 1956

The Crowley Town Club was the setting for a reunion of St. Michael High School graduates of classes from 1940 thru 1956 on

Saturday, November 29, 2008. Tim McBride from the class of 1946 acted as emcee for the night’s program and Deacon Rodless Leleux gave the invocation.

Special mention was given for the class of 1940 which was represented by Joe Baronet, Mrs. Agnes Thevis Doucet, Helen Sewe Kloor and Mrs. Margaret Leonards Olinger. Mrs. Carrie Thibodeaux Voinche represented the class of 1941. Mr. and Mrs. Doucet were also celebrating their 63rd wedding anniversary on this date.

Pierre Leleux of Whittier, California traveled the farthest to attend the reunion. Mr. Leleux has attended all prior reunions of St. Michael held in 1983, 2000 and this year’s 2008. Mr. McBride as well as many of the former students of St. Michael took time to reminisce about their past experiences of their school days and the importance of having the nuns of the Most Holy Sacrament as their teachers. Mentioned were Sr. Bridget, Sr. Adelith, Sr. Angelina, Sr. Teresita and as well as many others.

Sylvia Habetz gave an overview of the “Wall of Tiles” that has been developed at the school that can be inscribed with names of families, businesses, particular classes, football teams, etc. Pamphlets describing this project were distributed and graduates were encouraged to purchase a tile. Entertainment was provided by Shannon Guidry and the food was served by the Crowley Town Club.

The committee spearheading this reunion were Willie Mae Dailey, Louise Landry Morrow, Yvonne Maraist Simon and Jim Zaunbrecher.

Those in attendance included Louise Zaunbrecher Caffery, Lou Whittington Guillot, Larry Bollich, Jo Ann Zaunbrecher Ronkartz, Mary Ann Cagnina Meche, Audrey Duhon Hoffpauir, Suzanne Zaunbrecher Duncan, Joyce Lapoint Hebert, Donnie Signorelli, Dolores LeBlanc Nutt, Dorothy Ohlenforst Leger, Richard Barras, Marcella Leonards Ohlenforst, Rosie Trahan, Austin Bollich, Pierre Leleux, Ray Hebert, John Dan Gielen, Jack Habetz, Bobby John, Buck Leonards, Anthony Reiners, Jerome Ronkartz, Don Broussard, Louise Landry Morrow, Brucie Landry, Jim Zaunbrecher, Elton Bourque, Felix Zaunbrecher, Leonard Habetz, Tim McBride, Nick Hensgens, Lawrence Habtez, Ramona Bourgeois Leverette, Helen Sewe Kloor, Agnes Thevis Doucet, Callie Richard Dartez, Margaret Huesers Potier, Wilma Heinen Cormier, Rose Moreau Richard, Margaret Leonards Olinger, Joseph Baronet, Harriet Houghton Felber, Carrie Thibodeaux Voinche, Wanda Trahan, Antonia Thevis Hoffpauir, Stella Zaunbrecher Doucet, Sr. Mildred Leonards, Cheryl Carlin Williams, Billie Carlin Gleason and Willie Mae Herpin Dailey.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us