Three Ten Club elects 2008-2009 officers

On Tuesday, April 15, the Three Ten Club held their monthly meeting at the home of Wilda Burleigh. Co-hostesses for the evening were Flo Faulk and Betty Faulk.

Mary Beth Geesey, the club’s president, presided over the business meeting.

Louise Morrow and M’elise Trahan led the cub in the collect and the Pledge of Allegiance.

The secretary, treasurer and committee chairman gave their respective reports.

Bobbie Chambers gave an overview of the club’s Spring Fling which was held in March and was a grand success.

Barbara Scanlan called upon members to give Peggy Sandidge a round of applause for her outstanding service to the community and also in recognition of her recent Woman of the Year award.

Election of officers for the 2008-09 club year were held at this time. Newly elected were Mary Beth Geesey, president; Suzanne Gray, vice-president; Muff Bier, secretary; and Bobbie Chambers, treasurer.

Following the meeting Flo Faulk and Betty Faulk presented an interesting program on haunted Louisiana places. The video “The Haunting of Louisiana” produced by Lagniappe Media Productions of New Orleans depicted popular and well known Louisiana ghost stories associated with our state.

Many of the stories were set in Plantation Homes such as The Myrtles in St. Franisville, Cretien Point in Lafayette Parish, Oak Alley, Lloyd Hall and others.

Most interesting were the ghost stories about Jean LaFitte’s Blacksmith shop, the Beauregarde-Keyes Home, Laneau Manor, and the Ursaline Convent all located in the French Quarter in New Orleans.

The program was completed with the telling of a few ghost stories about Crowley.

Members were invited by the hostesses to enjoy refreshments of chicken salad and pimiento cheese sandwiches, a fruit tray, and nuts.

A delicious strawberry and amoretto cream filled cake topped with chocolate covered strawberries as well as punch and beverages were served to Carolyn Barousse, Sarah Bercier, Barbara Geesy, Joellen Hindman, Joan Hoffpauer, Imogene LaCour, Peggy Landry, Louise Morrow, Jane Omohondro, Alice Whiting, Elaine Wright, Helen Zaunbrecher, and also members previously mentioned.

Three Ten Club members who recently hosted the April monthly meeting were, seated, Flo Faulk, co-hostess; standing, from left, Wilda Burleigh, hostess; and Betty Faulk, co-hostess.

Acadia Parish Today

Crowley Post-Signal
P.O. Box 1589, Crowley, LA 70527
Phone: 337-783-3450
Fax: 337-788-0949

Rayne-Acadian Tribune
P.O. Box 260, Rayne, LA 70578
Phone: 337-334-3186
Fax: 337-334-8474

Church Point News
315 N. Main St., Church Point, LA 70525
Phone: 337-684-5711
Fax: 337-684-5793

Follow Us